Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

October’s Events November 5, 2013

Though “events” makes it sound like something grand happened, this is really just our chance to catch up on what happened during the last month.

Before I forget, I wanted to let you know that on Veteran’s Day, Krispy Kreme is giving away a free donut and small coffee to those who come in and present their military ID or are in their military uniforms.

One of the things we got to do this month was to watch the movie Pacific Rim.  My hubby was very excited to watch it, and I also enjoyed it a good bit.  In this movie, the different countries have created large robotic soldiers, piloted by pairs of soldiers, to combat the large monsters that are invading the world.  There’s a lot of action, but also some intriguing characters.  If you like movies like Godzilla, then I think you would be interested in this movie.

Also, I got to try another new kind of produce.  I was looking around the produce section and noticed that they had daikon for $1/lb.  I’d heard it talked about on some of my cooking shows and decided to give it a go.  All I really knew was that it was a type of Asian radish.  It looks a bit like a white carrot, but the flavor was no different from ordinary radishes.  Besides tasting some raw, I used it in an Asian lettuce wrap and plan to use some in our fish tacos this week.  (More on those another time, perhaps.)  Overall, I’d say that it’s nice to have tried but since it tastes no different from other radishes, I’ll just buy whichever is cheapest.

Daikon

Another new thing that I’ve gotten to try may sound odd, but I think you should give it a fair chance.  I’d seen this pin around a few times and decided I might as well try it.  Basically, you heat up some plain cheerios, add melted butter and salt (or other seasonings), and eat it like popcorn.  And it really is just as addictive as popcorn.  I probably ate much more than I should have, but I did enjoy having a quick and easy salty treat.

2-6 C is for... 2

And since salty must be balanced with sweet (at least in my mind), I also tried a new treat that I can’t wait to replicate myself.  I was out shopping with my SIL, and we decided to stop at Marble Slab for a treat.  It’s been quite a while since I’d been there, so I let her pick the flavor.  She picked their vanilla cinnamon, and I fell in love with it at once.  It was just a creamy vanilla with the perfect tinge of cinnamon, but to me it encapsulated the taste of fall in an ice cream.  It would be the perfect way to top off an apple or pumpkin dessert.  I hope to try recreating it soon, and I’ll surely let you know if it turns out.

Really, what I’ve loved most about this month is the chance to enjoy some of my favorite fall foods.  One of my favorite treats is toad in the hole.  In case you’re not sure what that is, you cut a circle out of the middle of a piece of bread, toast it in a pan, and fry an egg in the middle of the hole.  There’s just something about the buttery toast and runny yolk that make me so happy and satisfied.

Toad in the HoleToad in the Hole 2

Recently, I got the chance to make the hubby and I an English toad in the hole.  Though the above version will always be my favorite this one was a tasty dish.  The English version (at least this one) is sausages wrapped in prosciutto, baked in an eggy batter, and topped with an onion gravy.  The original recipe makes two 9×13 pans full, so I cooked just a quarter at a time for us.  It was tasty, though I might tweak it a little more in the future to suit us better.

English Toad in the Hole (from Celebrate by Pippa Middleton)

16 pork sausages (I used breakfast links.)

16 slices prosciutto

2 tbsp. olive oil

3 1/2 c. all-purpose flour

8 eggs

2 c. milk

1 tsp. mustard powder

2 tbsp. chopped rosemary

2 tbsp. olive oil

2 peeled, thinly sliced onions

4 tsp. Dijon mustard

1 quart beef stock

1. For the gravy, heat the 2 tbsp. oil in a heavy bottomed saucepan.  Add the onion and cook over low heat til soft, golden, and caramelized.  Stir in the mustard and stock.  Bring to a boil and simmer 10 minutes or til the liquid is thickened and reduced by half.  (By the way, this never turned into what I would consider gravy.  I even added cornstarch, but it was still pretty thin.  It tasted fine, but I just wanted you to know what to expect.)

2. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Wrap the sausages in the prosciutto.  Pour 2 tbsp. oil in the bottom of two 9×13 pans and arrange the sausages  in each pan.  Place the pans in the oven and bake 10 minutes.

3. In a bowl, whisk together the flour, eggs, and 1/2 the milk.  Gradually add in the remaining milk, whisking til smooth.  Add in the mustard and rosemary and season with salt and pepper.

4. Remove the pans from the oven and ladle the batter over the sausages til they’re 3/4 covered.  Return them to the oven and bake 20-25 minutes, til risen and golden brown.  Cut in slices and top with the gravy.

English Toad in the HoleEnglish Toad in the Hole 2

That’s what I’ve been enjoying about fall.  What are some of the things that you’ve been enjoying?

P.S.  Check out my cute pumpkins!  I have more, but the pictures didn’t turn out very well.  Yay for cute decorations.

Pumpkins 3

 

5 Responses to “October’s Events”

  1. Jenna Says:

    LOOOOVE the pumpkins!

  2. Raye Says:

    Egg in a hole…. yum! I’ve also heard it called bird in a basket and seen it made with bagels, but growing up we always did the toast version like you did. I love the pumpkins, too! Especially the white one. I’m hoping to score some mini’s on the cheap at the farmer’s mkt Saturday for décor and ry’s 5 MO picks next week. Yay for fall! Miss you!

  3. […] was the cinnamon ice cream.  I was trying to recreate the taste of the cinnamon ice cream that I recently tried with my SIL, and I think I did a pretty good job.  The first day, it tasted like ice cream made from the milk […]


Leave a Reply

