Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Journey through June July 2, 2013

Oh, the yummies I have to share today; I can hardly wait.  Some I can’t wait to try, and a couple that have already made my taste buds jump for joy.  Plus, I’ve got some lovely books to tell you about.  Let’s get started!

The first new flavor will keep you cool and maybe even bring you back to your childhood.  For the month of July only, Orange Leaf is offering a new root beer float flavor.  I, for one, can’t wait to stop by and try some.

The next new flavor offering come from the doughnut titan: Krispy Kreme.  They are offering 3 new amazing doughnut flavors involving caramel: a chocolate cake doughnut topped with caramel glaze and chocolate chips, a doughnut filled with caramel kreme and topped with a dark chocolate glaze, and (my personal favorite) a doughnut filled with chocolate kreme and topped with caramel icing, salty pretzels, and a caramel drizzle.  They all sound amazing, and I wouldn’t mind giving any of them a try.  Anyone feel like splitting them with me?  Krispy Kreme is also celebrating their 76th birthday this year.  If you stop by on July 13th, you can buy a dozen glazed doughnuts and get a second dozen for 76 cents.

Though I didn’t get to try any new produce this month (since I refuse to pay the crazy prices I’m seeing for them), I did get to read a number of books; 3 of which I thought were too amazing not to share.  I’ve mentioned previously, how much I love fairy tales and books that put a new spin on them.  One of the books I read this month, was a retelling of Rumpelstiltskin from his point of view.  The book Rump by Liesl Shurtliff is an incredible new look at this classic fairy tale with a great twist thrown in.  Though this is a kid’s book, there is plenty of interest for those of us who don’t qualify as juveniles anymore.

Another great kid’s book that I only just recently got to read was The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick.  Don’t be put off by its 500+ pages; over half of them are beautiful charcoal illustrations that really added to the magical feel of the book.  In The Invention of Hugo Cabret, Hugo is an orphan living in a train station, obsessed with a mechanical man he’s found.  Throughout the course of the book, Hugo risks losing everything, but eventually finds some important lessons.

The last book I wanted to share is an essential handbook for anyone who’s interested in making their own candy.  The Liddabit Sweets Candy Cookbook by Liz Gutman & Jen King is written in a fun, informative way.  Before you dive into all their delicious looking recipes, they make sure to set you up with all the necessary tools for success.  Everything in their book looks tasty, and their clear instructions make me feel like I could actually manage to make them (even the ones that require a candy thermometer).

As usual, I wanted to share this past week’s pizza.  We decided to have another taco pizza.  Now that might sound boring, but tacos have lots of variety – this pizza was nothing like our last taco pizza.  I topped the pizza with green salsa, cheddar, mozzarella, taco meat, black beans, corn, and tomatoes.  It had lots of great flavor, and we’ll definitely be putting it in the rotation.

Taco Pizz IITaco Pizz II 3Taco Pizz II 2

As soon I saw this next recipe (doughnut french toast!!), I knew I’d have to make it soon.  So, I might have made it twice this past week.  Though all of it’s tasty, I think the biggest trick is to coat the freshly fried toast in sugar.  It really does make it taste like a doughnut, and I could eat this much oftener than my waistline would thank me for.  Needless to say (though I’m going to anyway), you should try this as soon as you possibly can.

Doughnut French Toast (From Nigella Express by Nigella Lawson)

2 eggs

1/4 c. milk

4 tsp. vanilla

4 small slices (or 2 large ones cut in halves) white bread

2 tbsp. butter + 1 drop oil (That’s what the recipe called for.  I just drizzled in a little oil.)

1/4 c. sugar (I ended using more than that.)

1. Beat together the eggs, milk, and vanilla in a wide shallow bowl.  Soak the bread in the egg mix for 5 minutes per side.

2. Heat the butter and oil in a skillet and fry the toast til golden on both sides.

3. Put the sugar on a plate and dredge the cooked toast in it til coated.

Doughnut French ToastDoughnut French Toast 2

Well, that’s it for right now.  If you’re still trying to decide on a menu for July 4th, there are a lot of tasty burger and fry recipes already on the blog.  Plus I’ll be back next week with some of the treats we’re going to celebrate with.  Have a great week!

 

Leave a Reply

