Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

May’s Happenings June 6, 2013

Welcome, one and all.  Let’s catch up on what happened during the marvelous month of May.  Sadly, I don’t have any pictures from last week’s pizza extravaganza.  We had the hubby’s brothers and their girls over last Friday, and we had a mini pizza tasting with four different flavors.  We started with the delicious Thai chicken, moved to a standard pepperoni (with a pizza sauce that I just threw together), a BBQ chicken (with a BBQ sauce that my hubby made up on the spot), and a 3 cheese (ricotta, parmesan, & mozzarella) pesto chicken pizza.  Of course, we were hanging out while they cooked and eating them right when they came out, so no pictures got taken.  Still, they’re flavors that I’d like to revisit, so I can take pictures the next time.

Now does anyone remember when I made frozen banana bites?  They were delicious and fairly good for you, but they also took a little time and effort to make.  While browsing Pinterest, I kept seeing pins about using frozen bananas to make a guilt-free ice cream.  You would get the same great flavor as the banana bites, but with a little less work.  I decided there was no reason not to try it, so I went ahead and tested it (for you, of course).  It comes together really easily and tastes just like the banana bites.  I’m a big fan of peanut butter, so I plan to double the amount next time so that the flavor comes through stronger.  Plus with only 3 fairly healthy ingredients, you can enjoy this frozen treat with no guilt.  Here’s how to make it.

Guilt Free Ice Cream (from Doomestic)

4 peeled, sliced, frozen bananas (The only part you have to think about ahead of time.)

2 tbsp. peanut butter (I plan to double this for extra peanut butter flavor.)

2 tbsp. cocoa

1. Put all your ingredients in a food processor and process them til smooth and blended.  You can serve it right away or put it back in the freezer and enjoy it later.  (It’s a really great cool-down treat after a hard day of work or play.)

Banana Ice CreamBanana Ice Cream 2

A new product that I recently got to try is another option for a refreshing, mostly guilt free treat.  I recently got a coupon to use on some Dreyer’s popsicles.  I was just expecting to get a basic popsicle, but then I spotted their new Outshine Coconut Waters with Pineapple.  Oh my goodness!!!  These combine the wonderful flavors of pineapple and coconut (one of my favorite combos) into a cool, very refreshing frozen treat.  I love the flavor of pina colada (non-alcoholic, of course!) and this definitely has that great taste.  If you can find these on sale, I would definitely suggest you give them a whirl.  (And maybe someday I’ll be able recreate them.)

And since we’re on the subject of desserts, I have to tell you that I found a new obsession: baklava.  I’ve had “baklava” before, but they were all VERY pale imitations of the real thing.  On a recent girl’s day out, two of my best friends and I stopped for a light lunch at a local Turkish grill.  We tried some feta and spinach stuffed pastries, hummus, and baba ganoush.  We ate probably a little too much of their house-made flatbread dipped in olive oil.  And we shared too small a plate of the most delicious baklava.  Theirs is a simple phyllo dough filled with sweetened pistachios, and I think we all could have eaten more than 1 plate on our own.  It’s a little pricey, but definitely worth a splurge every now and then.  Of course, I might just have to learn to make it myself so that I can have more of it.  😀

The new produce that I got to try this month was a root vegetable called jicama.  Though it doesn’t have a lot of flavor (a little bit like a cross between a carrot and a cucumber), it has a great crunchy texture.  It’s also a very cool (as in temperature) vegetable.  It has a thick skin that needs to be peeled off, but afterward it slices very easily.  When I can find it for a good price, I think it will make a great addition to my summer salads and slaws.

With all the sweets that we just discussed, you might feel like you’re going to have a stomach-ache. So I wanted to take this opportunity to tell you my favorite remedy for an upset stomach.  I am a huge fan of ginger and its anti-naseau properties, but stomach-aches don’t always come when you’re at home and can brew some ginger tea.  Luckily, there are a couple of ginger products that you can easily have on hand to quell those feelings.  The first product that I found was a tin of ginger altoids.  These curiously strong mints are hot to taste, but that heat packs some tummy-soothing properties.  Unfortunately, I can no longer find these in my local stores.  (The best places to find these items are Central Market -for Texas residents- and World Market.)  When my altoids ran out and I needed a replacement, I found a group of products made by a company called The Ginger People.  Among their various ginger-ific products, they make a wonderful ginger hard candy.  Like the altoids, these hard candies pack a punch that can soothe a multitude of tummy troubles.

Until next time, here’s hoping your sweet tooth is satiated and your tummy turmoil is taken care of.  Happy Eating!!

P.S.  Happy Anniversary, honey!!!  I love you!

 

Leave a Reply

