Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, and Dessert May 25, 2013

How’s your week going?  I am having a great week, full of activities and fellowship with friends.  I’ve also been trying lots of tasty recipes, and I’m so glad that I can finally share some with you.  Four recipes is a lot, but I think you deserve a full post.  Plus these are too tasty to wait any longer.

Let’s start with breakfast.  I’ve mentioned before that my husband doesn’t have a lot of time in the mornings, so I’m always on the lookout for fast, tasty food that I can make for him.  I recently saw a great recipe that fit all my favorite check boxes: it’s easy to make, freezes well, reheats well, tastes good, has decent nutritional values, customizes easily, is quick to fix in the morning, and my husband thinks it’s delicious.

Baked Oatmeal Cups (slightly tweaked from Macaroni and Cheesecake)

2 c. quick-cooking or rolled oats

1/4 tsp. salt

1 tsp. baking powder

1/2 c. honey (My hubby’s favorite way to fix oatmeal is maple syrup and cinnamon, so I use maple syrup instead of the honey.)

2 eggs

3/4 c. milk

1/3 c. melted butter

2 tbsp. cinnamon (Added for my hubby.)

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees; grease 12 muffin cups and set them aside.  In a large bowl, stir together the oats, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon (if using it).  Add the honey (or syrup) and stir to combine.  Add the eggs, then pour in the milk and butter.  Mix til fully incorporated; the mix will be very runny.  Add in any extras that you want (chocolate chips, nuts, dried fruit, etc.) and stir to incorporate them.

2. Fill each muffin cup 2/3 full and sprinkle any extra topping on top (if desired).  Bake the oatmeal 25-30 minutes or til the tops and edges are golden brown.  Remove them from the oven and let cool a few minutes in the pan.  Once slightly cooled, run a knife around the outside of each muffin cup and remove the oatmeal from the pan.  These can be served warm or cool.

3. I freeze the muffin cups in a Ziploc bag.  The night before, I’ll put 2 in the fridge to thaw a little.  Then when my husband’s ready for breakfast, I take the thawed oatmeal cups and heat them in the microwave for about a minute.

Baked Oatmeal CupsBaked Oatmeal Cups 2

When I showed you our tasty taco pizza recently, I mentioned that I’d used some chicken from an enchilada filling.  The time has come for me to share that enchilada recipe with you.  These peanut butter mole enchiladas were tasty, but I’ve added a few tweaks to bulk them up a little more.

Peanut Butter Mole Enchiladas (from Pillsbury)

2 10 oz. cans enchilada sauce

1/2 c. peanut butter

1/2 tsp. sugar

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 oz. bittersweet chocolate (I tried using 1 tbsp. of cocoa instead which was just a bit too bitter.  I think 1/2 tbsp. of cocoa would be perfect.)

1 1/2 c. shredded cheddar-monterey jack

8 flour tortillas (If you’ve read my blog for a while, you know that I used corn instead of flour.)

2 c. cooked chicken breasts

1/4 c. chopped peanuts

1 tsp. lime juice

8 oz. sour cream

2 tbsp. chopped cilantro

(Next time, I would add a can of black beans and a can of corn to make the filling go a little farther.)

1. Heat the oven to 325 degrees.  In a 2 quart saucepan, cook the enchilada sauce over medium-low heat for about 5 minutes, stirring occasionally, til heated.  Stir in the peanut butter and sugar; cook 1-2 minutes or til the peanut butter is melted.  Remove the pan from the heat.  Add the cinnamon and chocolate and stir til the chocolate is melted.

2. Grease a 9×13 inch pan.  Set aside 1/2 c. of the cheese.  Spoon 1/2 c. of the sauce into the bottom of the dish.  Fill each tortilla with 1/4 c. chicken, 2 tbsp. cheese, and 1 heaping tbsp. of sauce.  (To make things faster, I mixed together the chicken, 1 c. cheese, and 8 tbsp. of sauce, then I just used this mix to fill up the enchiladas.)  Roll up the tortillas and place the enchiladas seam side down in the pan.  Pour the remaining sauce over the enchiladas.

3. Cover the pan with foil and bake 25-30 minutes or til thoroughly heated.  Sprinkle the enchiladas with the reserved 1/2 c. of cheese and bake, uncovered, 2-3 minutes longer or til the cheese is melted.  After removing the enchiladas from the oven, sprinkle the top with the peanuts.  In a small bowl, stir the lime juice into the sour cream.  Pour some over the enchiladas and sprinkle with the cilantro.

Peanut Butter Mole Enchiladas 2Peanut Butter Mole Enchiladas

Last Friday, we enjoyed an amazing cheesesteak pizza based on this recipe.  I used her method to make a cream sauce though I used only 3/4 c. cream, 4 wedges of Laughing Cow, about 1/4 c. of grated Parmesan, and 2 cloves of minced garlic.  (I spread some on the pizza and used the leftovers the next day to sauce some pasta.)  I then topped the pizza with some sauteed onions, mushrooms, and bell pepper; roast beef, provolone slices, and Italian seasoning.  My husband is a huge fan of Philadelphia cheesesteak sandwiches, so naturally he adored this pizza.  I enjoyed it too, especially the garlicky cream sauce.  I’m sure this would have been even tastier if we’d had some Boursin cheese and real steak.  Nevertheless, we will return to this recipe often.

Cheesesteak pizzaCheesesteak pizza 3

 

The dessert recipe is one that I made as a little gift for our church’s high school graduates.  This recipe for a peanut butter filled chocolate cookie sounded like something that everyone would like, so I made a double batch.  This was a pretty easy cookie to make (though there are several parts, they’re all pretty easy), and the taste was out of this world.  According to Martha Stewart, each batch should make 2 1/2 dozen cookies.  Somehow, mine turned into gigantic cookies, so they only made about 21 per batch.  Big or little, they have a great peanut butter chocolate taste that we found irresistible.  If you need an impressive, delicious cookie for an upcoming event, keep these in mind.

Peanut-Butter Surprises (lightly adapted from Martha Stewart)

2 c. all-purpose flour

1/2 c. Dutch-process cocoa (In my kitchen, I use Hershey’s Special Dark cocoa which is a mix of extra-dark cocoa and Dutch-process cocoa.)

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. salt (Since I think all baked goods need a little salt to enhance their flavor.)

1/2 c. room temperature butter

1/2 c. shortening

1/2 c. sugar

1 1/4 c. brown sugar

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

1 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips

1/2 c. peanut butter

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Sift together the flour, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda, and salt; set aside.

2. In a large bowl, beat together the butter, shortening, sugar, and 1 c. brown sugar on medium til light and fluffy, about 2 minutes.  Add the eggs, 1 at a time, mixing til fully combined.  Add the vanilla and beat to combine.  Gradually add the dry ingredients and mix on low til fully combined.  Add the chocolate chips and mix on low just til combined.  Cover and chill til firm, about 1 hour.

3. In a small bowl, stir together the peanut butter and remaining 1/4 c. brown sugar.

4. Drop the dough by tablespoonfuls onto baking sheets, spacing 2 inches apart.  (I used my 1 1/2 tbsp. cookie scoop.)  Make a thumbprint in the middle of each cookie.  (I used the back of my cookie scoop to make an indent.)  Fill each cookie with about 2 tsp of the peanut butter mix.  (Even with the reduced number of cookies my batch made, this would quickly exhaust the amount of peanut butter I had.  I just put in a small amount that looked right, probably about 1 tsp.)  Top with another tbsp. of flattened dough and mold the dough to cover the peanut butter.  (I divided 1 cookie scoop of dough in half and used that to cover 2 cookies.  The dough is very soft, so I kept chilling it between batches.   Although it’s chilled, you can easily mold and flatten it with the warmth of your hands.)

5. Bake til firm, about 12 minutes, rotating halfway through the time.  Cool on the cookie sheet 5 minutes, then finish cooling on a wire rack.

Peanut-Butter Surprises 2Peanut-Butter Surprises

I hope you’ve gotten your fill of yummy pictures and recipes.  I can’t wait to share more with you as soon as I can.

P.S.  I meant to get this post out on Thursday.  I got through the dinner recipe before I had to stop for an appointment that lasted the rest of the evening.  Then yesterday was too full for me to even think about it.  I wanted to make sure you got a post this week, so I got up early this morning and finished with dessert.  Thanks for your patience!

 

Leave a Reply

