Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Short but Sweet May 17, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — foodfaithandfinds @ 4:07 PM
Tags: ,

I planned a longer post this week, but it just isn’t going to work out that way.  Still, I didn’t want to leave you without a post this week.  Our schedules have been different than usual this week, but it’s all been very good.  I’ve made some really great recipes that I can’t wait to share with you, but for this week, we’ll stick with just last week’s pizza night and a refreshing drink for you to enjoy as the weather’s heating up.

Last week’s pizza is going to be a favorite of ours for a long time to come: Thai Chicken Pizza.  I was inspired to make this after reading about it on a favorite food blog: Dainty Chef.  I’ve mentioned it before, but her blog is filled with tasty food that is affordable and approachable.  This pizza just sounded amazing, and I’m so glad we got to it soon.  For our version, we topped the pizza with sweet chili sauce, shredded chicken (cooked of course), zucchini, and mozzarella.  Then, when it came out, we sprinkled on some chopped peanuts, cilantro, and basil and drizzled on some sriracha sauce.  Let me tell you, the flavors were incredible.  It was a little spicy, but very fresh and flavorful.  (In case you’re wondering, I’m not doing recipes for the pizza because it’s all about customization for you and your family.  I don’t measure any of the ingredients, I just put on however much looks good to me.)

Thai Chicken Pizza 3Thai Chicken Pizza 2Thai Chicken Pizza

We’ve gotten lots of great produce lately, and I am loving the chance to use it in new recipes.  I used 1/2 of a pineapple to whip up 1/2 a batch of this delicious agua fresca (enough for 2 tall glasses).  Agua frescas (Spanish for fresh waters) are refreshing drinks that come in all sorts of delicious flavors.  This one has a yummy, light pineapple taste with just a hint of ginger.  If this recipe is any indication, they are quick to make and perfect for a hot summer day.

Pineapple-Ginger Agua Fresca (from the July 2010 issue of Bon Appetit)

5 c. peeled, cored, cut in 1 in. cubes pineapple

4 c. water

1/2 c. sugar

2 tsp. peeled, grated ginger

1. Puree the pineapple, 1 c. water, and sugar in batches in the blender til smooth.  (Since I was doing a half batch, I just used my immersion blender on all the pineapple, water, and sugar at once.)  Mix in the remaining 3 c. water (if you didn’t already) and ginger.  Cover and chill til cold, about 4 hr.  Strain the liquid into a pitcher, pressing down on the solids (to release as much juice as possible).  If you’d like, you can add more ginger (to taste) and serve it over ice.

Pineapple-Ginger Agua Fresca 2Pineapple-Ginger Agua Fresca  (Hubby didn’t like the floaties, but I didn’t mind them.  They’re just bits of pineapple and ginger.)

Well, that’s all I can say today, but I’ll be back as soon as I can with tons of yummy recipes.  Have a great weekend!

 

One Response to “Short but Sweet”

  1. […] and we had a mini pizza tasting with four different flavors.  We started with the delicious Thai chicken, moved to a standard pepperoni (with a pizza sauce that I just threw together), a BBQ chicken (with […]


Leave a Reply

