Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Have I Ruined Your Diet Yet? March 14, 2013

Did you make a New Year’s Resolution to go on a diet?  If you did, how are you doing on it?  I, for one, am not making much headway on mine.  I’m sure it has nothing to do with all these goodies I keep making. 😉  (It’s actually due to a number of factors that I won’t bore you with right now.  Still, I’m not giving up; just trying to find what works for me.)

I mentioned a couple of weeks ago that I had some stale marshmallows that needed using up.  The following weekend, I got to try a new treat which used them up very nicely.  The hubby (a fan of all things akin to Rice Krispie Treats) thought they were terrific and would have preferred not to share.  (Though he did.)  I thought they were okay, but I would’ve preferred a more pronounced peanut butter flavor.  They are very easy and quick to make, so keep them in mind next time you need a quick treat.

Crunchy Chocolate Rice Krispies Treats (from Martha Stewart)

4 tbsp. butter

8 oz. finely chopped semi-sweet chocolate (I just used some chocolate chips I had on hand.)

1 10 oz. bag mini marshmallows (I used half regular and half mini that I had sitting around.)

6 c. rice krispies

3/4 c. peanut butter chips

1. In a large, deep saucepan, melt the butter over low heat.  Add the marshmallows and cook, stirring, til melted, 6-8 minutes.  (Mine took a bit longer, probably because they were stale.)

2. Add the chocolate and cook, stirring, til melted, 2-4 minutes.  Remove the pan from the heat and quickly fold in the rice krispies and peanut butter chips til they’re evenly distributed.  (My mix was sticky and stiff.  Again, I think it’s because my marshmallows were stale.  I just borrowed the hubby’s muscles; the taste didn’t seem to be affected.)

3. Grease a 1/4 c. measuring cup and use it to scoop the mix onto wax paper.  Let set 10 minutes.  (I wanted mine to look a bit more like cookies, so after they came out of the cup, I pressed them down a bit.)

Crunchy Chocolate Rice Krispies Treats 2

This past weekend, I got to make 2 new recipes for a church gathering and a party.  For the church gathering I decided to tweak a cookie recipe I had been wanting to try.  If you like citrus and chocolate, then you will enjoy these.   The original recipe calls for key limes and white chocolate, but I decided to use the blood oranges and semi-sweet chocolate that I already had.   The citrus flavor is very delicate and pairs well with the chocolate.  These were easy to make and made about 2 dozen.

Orange-Chocolate Cookies (tweaked from Betty Crocker)

1/2 c. softened butter

3/4 c. brown sugar

2 tbsp. sugar

1 1/2 tsp. vanilla

1 egg  (If you happen to be making two desserts at once and forget which one called for 2 eggs and which called for just 1, things will be okay.  Though the original recipe says they’re crispy, the extra egg will just make them soft and chewy.  They’re very yummy and work either way.  Not that I know from personal experience or anything.)

2 1/3 c. Bisquick

6 oz. chocolate chunks

1 tbsp. citrus zest

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  In a large bowl, beat together the butter, sugars, vanilla, and egg with a spoon til well mixed.  (I threw the zest in at the same time so that it would get really evenly mixed in.)  Stir in the Bisquick and mix.  Stir in the zest (if you didn’t already) and the chocolate.

2. Drop the dough by rounded teaspoonfuls on an ungreased cookie sheet.  Bake 8-10 min or til set but not brown.  Cool 1 minute on the pan and finish cooling them on a wire rack.

Orange-Chocolate Cookies 5

For the party, I had been asked to make peanut butter cookies.  I immediately thought of a recipe I’d recently seen on one of my favorite blogs that looked super easy and tasty.  I made it, and I’m so glad I did.  These are really dense and rich, but so tasty and easy to make (with only 5 ingredients!).  They were a hit!

M&M Peanut Butter Bars (from Rachel Cooks)

3/4 c. peanut butter

2 eggs

1 c. brown sugar

2 c. Bisquick

1 12 oz. bag M&Ms

1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees and grease an 8 in. square pan.  In a medium bowl, combine the peanut butter and eggs til well mixed and smooth.  Add in the brown sugar and stir til combined.  Stir in the Bisquick til moistened and fold in the M&M’s.  (This mix is REALLY thick, so you might want to knead it like biscuit dough.)

2. Spread the dough in the prepared pan and bake 35-40 minutes or til golden brown.

M&M Peanut Butter BarsM&M Peanut Butter Bars 3

Hopefully, you’re enjoying all these sweets.  And if you’re still around next week (and not in a sugar coma), we’ll have a small break from the sugar with an absolutely fantastic savory recipe.  I can’t wait to share it, but you’re still going to have to come around next week to see what it is.

 

One Response to “Have I Ruined Your Diet Yet?”

  1. […] that I’ve tried.  Here’s what happened last month.  After using just the zest for my cookies, I decided to try eating one of my blood oranges.  I’d tried a sample in a store that was […]


Leave a Reply

