Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Simple Delights February 26, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — foodfaithandfinds @ 2:21 PM
Tags: , ,

This has been a week of easy, yet tasty foods.  I don’t know about you, but sometimes that’s just what I need.  Take today’s lunch for example.  I had some carrots with hummus; sliced, salted radishes on lightly buttered toast; Radish Toast  and some roasted cauliflower and carrots.

Roasted veggies  I recently saw a picture (I don’t remember where) of someone roasting cauliflower “steaks.”  When I was planning today’s lunch, I thought I’d give it a try.  Let me tell you, I’m never going back.  Besides the fact that it’s a lot easier to slice the cauliflower than cut it into florets, you get more even browning, and it’s easier to flip.

For sweet’s last week, I had a craving for gooey, delicious s’mores.  I dragged out some grahams, stale marshmallows (I see some sort of Rice Krispies in our future.), and chocolate to make this deliciousness.

S'more 2  I’m not actually a fan of marshmallows, so microwaving the s’more is not an option.  I only like my marshmallow when it’s completely charred.  Hence, I pull out an unscented tealight, put my marshmallow on a skewer, and “roasted” away.  It’s an easy and tasty midday snack.

One night my hubby was complaining about wanting some sweets, so I wrangled him into helping me with another treat.  Why the help?  Well, as I’ve mentioned previously, regular blenders hate me.  (However, my fabulous immersion blender is another story entirely.  It hasn’t failed me yet, and hopefully never will.)  We had a pineapple in the fridge that I wanted to try in a certain blended recipe, so I asked the blender-master (a.k.a. the hubs) to fix it for me.  He did a great job, but the treat wasn’t quite what we were hoping for.  He had to add more ice to get the right consistency, but then it tasted watered down.  Also, there are no sweeteners included, and it definitely needed some.  Maybe our pineapple just wasn’t sweet enough.  (Mine tasted much better after I stirred in some sugar, but I don’t like to do that since the consistency is weird and the dregs taste bitter.)  My other complaint was that you really couldn’t taste the coconut.  You might be able to blend in some sweetened, shredded coconut to kill two birds with one stone.  Though it needs adjusting (I’d love to know if you find a tasty tweak.), it was still tasty and easy enough that I wanted to share it with you.

Pineapple-Coconut Frappe (from Eating Well.com)

1 1/2 c. chopped pineapple (I used fresh, but I’m sure canned would also work.)

1 c. milk

1/3 c. light coconut milk

10 ice cubes

1. Blend all ingredients in the blender til frothy.

Pineapple-Coconut FrappePineapple-Coconut Frappe 2  (Hubby popped in a straw in between my shots.)

But our favorite part of this past week was this simple, one-pot dinner.  It was so amazing the first night, and we’re still enjoying the leftovers.  This does have a little spice, so consider cutting back on the chili powder if you’re not a fan of spice.  The funny thing is that I really just got this recipe to use up some Velveeta that we’d purchased (and ended up not using) for the Super Bowl, but it’s too tasty to not make part of our dinner rotation.

Velveeta Taco Mac and Cheese (from Kraft.com)

1 lb. ground beef

1/3 c. chunky salsa

1 1/2 tsp. chili powder

8 oz. elbow macaroni (I had whole wheat shells on hand which worked wonderfully.)

8 oz. diced Velveeta (My serrated knife cut through with ease and no sticking.)

1. In a large skillet, brown the beef over medium-high heat; drain off the grease.

2. Stir in 2 3/4 c. water, salsa, and chili powder and bring to a boil.  Stir in the pasta and cover.  Reduce the heat to medium-low and simmer 8-10 minutes or til the water is almost completely absorbed.  (This is what gives it such great flavor.  The pasta is cooked in the salsa and chili water.  Yum!)

3. Add the Velveeta and cook til melted, stirring frequently.

Velveeta Taco Mac and Cheese

So that’s it!  Everything’s easy, customizable, and great for a lazy or rushed week.

 

One Response to “Simple Delights”

  1. […] mentioned a couple of weeks ago that I had some stale marshmallows that needed using up.  The following weekend, I got to try a […]


Leave a Reply

