Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Savory Meals for a Day January 22, 2013

So I’ve posted a lot of sweets lately, and I thought that now would be a great time to present a day’s worth of savory foods.  Now, I’m not saying that you should eat all of these in one day; you’d probably be exhausted and overfull.  I’m just saying that I’ll share a savory food for each meal (including a snack).

Let’s start with breakfast.  This is one of my go-to recipes when I’m asked to bring breakfast for a crowd.  These aren’t difficult to make, it makes plenty (about 2 dozen), it’s a crowd-pleaser, and it reheats very well.  (I make them once or twice a year, so I’m not sure how I haven’t posted about them before.)

Sausage Brunch Muffins (from Taste of Home)

1 lb. bulk pork sausage

4 c. Bisquick

3/4 c. milk

1/2 c. water

4 oz. can diced green chiles (undrained)

1 beaten egg

1 11 oz. can drained corn

1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.  (My oven runs hot and my pans are dark and nonstick, so I usually do 375-400 degrees.)  In a skillet, brown the sausage over medium heat.

2. In a large bowl, combine the Bisquick, milk, water, chiles, and egg; mix well.  Stir in the corn and sausage.

3. Fill 24 greased muffin cups 2/3 full.  (The muffins don’t rise very much.)  Bake for 16-18 min. or til golden brown.  Cool at least 5 min.

Sausage Brunch Muffins 2

The “lunch” recipe is a dish that I’ve had my eye on for a while, but that I just got to try in the past few weeks.  One of the reasons I haven’t been able to try this sooner is that it’s not something my husband would eat.  He is not a fan of chicken sausage, and he got a little freaked out by the thought of apple juice in his macaroni.  Before you skip to the next recipe, let me say that you couldn’t taste apple juice in the dish, but it did give the sauce a nice sweetness that went very well with the sausage.  I have to warn you that, chicken sausage aside, this is in no wise a healthy dish.  But it is very tasty, and a nice variation on a classic.  If you are a huge fan of chicken sausage, you might want to up the amount included.  My best friend and I liked the spare amount of sausage, but her son was looking for more.

Apple-Sausage Mac and Cheese  (tweaked from Food Network Magazine)

4 tbsp. butter

3/4 lb. pasta shells

1/2 diced onion

6 oz. chicken-apple sausage sliced 1/2 in. thick

1 tbsp. ground mustard

1/4 tsp. cayenne

1/4 c. all-purpose flour

3 c. apple juice

1 lb. shredded Monterey Jack (I told you it wasn’t healthy!)

1/2 lb. shredded cheddar

1/2 c. sour cream

1 sleeve crushed Ritz crackers

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Butter a 2 1/2 quart baking dish (like a 9×13).  Bring a large pot of salted water to boil; add the pasta and cook til al dente, about 6 min.  Drain the pasta and set aside.

2. Melt the butter in a large saucepan over medium-high heat.  Add the onion and cook til soft, about 3 min.  Add the sausage, mustard, cayenne, and 1 tsp. salt; cook, stirring, til the sausage is golden, about 3 min.  Stir in the flour, and cook, stirring, til lightly toasted, 2 min.  Stir in the apple juice and cook, stirring occasionally, til slightly thickened, about 8 min.

3. Slowly stir about 3/4 of each cheese into the sauce til smooth, 2 min. Remove from the heat and stir in the pasta and sour cream.  Pour the mix into the baking dish.  Sprinkle it with the crushed Ritz and remaining cheese.  Bake til bubbly, 25-30 min.  Rest at least 10 min. before serving.

Apple-Sausage Mac and Cheese 2Apple-Sausage Mac and Cheese 3

I don’t know about you, but I get hungry more than 3 times a day, so I like having things around to snack on.  I made this dip for a New Year’s Eve party, but the leftovers were great for snacking.  Don’t be put off by the title ingredient; it is not hot, but just has a great flavor.  The jalapenos are chopped super small and dispersed throughout a pound of sour cream.  Trust me, even the little kids at the party enjoyed this.  This was a big hit, and I will definitely be making it again.

Jalapeno Dip (I’m not sure where this came from; give me holler if you know where it started.)

1 16 oz. pkg. sour cream

1 1 oz. pkg. ranch dip mix

2 roughly chopped jalapenos

2 cloves minced garlic

1/3 c. cilantro (I know that cilantro’s a controversial ingredient, so I subbed in parsley to keep the beautiful green tint.  Then I added a sprinkle of dried cilantro for a hint of flavor.)

Juice of 1 lime

2-4 tbsp. milk

1. In a food processor, combine the jalapenos, cilantro, and garlic.  Pulse til finely chopped.  Add the lime juice, sour cream, and ranch mix and pulse til thoroughly combined.  Add the milk a tbsp. at a time til the desired thickness is reached.  Serve with ridged chips.

Jalapeno Dip 2

This last dish, dinner, is my favorite.  While we were at my parent’s house for Thanksgiving, my mom and I made a chili cheese dip that was tasty.  The bummer for us was that it had a pound of Velveeta in it.  (The reason I didn’t post it was that we both considered it too cheesy, plus a little unhealthy and expensive.)  A few weeks after I got home, I found a soup recipe that had all the same great flavors, but less of the worrisome ingredients.  It turned out so delicious and easy (it’s a 1-pot dish!); I really wanted to tell y’all about it sooner, but I guess the holidays got in the way.  Still, I’m super excited to share it with you now.

Beefy Nacho Soup (adapted from Betty Crocker)

1 lb. ground beef

1 tbsp. taco seasoning

1 10 3/4 oz. can condensed nacho cheese soup

1 10 oz. can diced tomatoes with chiles

1 1/2 c. milk

1 15 oz. can black beans

1 15 oz. can drained corn

1. In a 2 qt. saucepan over medium-hi heat, cook the beef 5-7 min., stirring occasionally, til cooked through.  Drain.

2. Reduce the heat to medium, and stir in the remaining ingredients.  Cook 8-12 min. or til thoroughly heated, stirring frequently.  Serve with sour cream and chips.

Beefy Nacho Soup 2  (By the way, the pic doesn’t do justice to its delicious flavor.)

Are you done with sweets for a while or are you still craving your dessert everyday?  Though I’m not wanting as many sweets, I do still like a sweet bite at the end of the day.

 

One Response to “Savory Meals for a Day”

  1. […] already on the blog that you can check out: Cream Cheese Cranberry Muffins, S’mores Muffins, sausage brunch muffins, peanut butter and chocolate chunk muffins, lemon muffins with lemon glaze, cherry pie muffins, […]


Leave a Reply

