Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

And the 12th Christmas cookie is…Cinnamon Cornmeal Wafers!!! December 20, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — foodfaithandfinds @ 2:24 PM
Tags:

Well, this wasn’t how I expected this week’s post to go.  I actually have quite a long list to blog about, but it’s going to have to wait.  The dreaded winter cold finally caught me, but I didn’t want to put off our final Christmas cookie installment.  Hopefully, I will be back to 100% in no time, and I can come back next week with SO many recipes that you’ll gain a pound or two just reading about them. (I’ll probably have to break them up into several posts.  Seriously, I’m trying out a ton of new deliciousness.)

These cookies were the perfect antidote to my recent sugar overload (thanks to several weeks of decadent cookies).  The cookies aren’t terribly sweet, the lemon zest gives them some brightness, and the cornmeal gives them a great texture and crunch.  These are also wonderful make ahead cookies.  You can whip up the dough one day and stash it in your fridge or freezer til you need a quick and easy dessert.  I also think you could easily swap the cinnamon with whatever spice you prefer.  By the way, it makes 4 1/2 dozen, so you’ll have plenty to share and plenty to devour.  Without further adieu, I give you the Cinnamon Cornmeal Wafers.

Cinnamon Cornmeal Wafers (from the Every Day with Rachael Ray Magazine)

1 1/4 c. flour

1 c. yellow cornmeal

1 tsp. cinnamon

1 pinch salt

1 c. softened butter

1 c. sugar

1 tsp. lemon zest (I got this from 1 lemon.)

2 egg yolks

1. In a medium bowl, combine the flour, cornmeal, cinnamon, and salt.  Set aside.

2. In a separate bowl, beat together the butter, sugar, and zest, starting on low and increasing to medium-high til light and fluffy, about 3 min.  Beat in the yolks.  Reduce speed to low and beat in the flour mix til just combined (the dough will be crumbly).

3. Press the dough together by hand and divide in half.  Place each half on a separate sheet of wax paper and form them into 2 equal-sized logs; smooth the logs with damp fingers.  (I didn’t bother doing this, and I didn’t have any problems with the cookies.)  Wrap the logs in wax paper and freeze til firm, about 30 min.  (You can also just refrigerate them for a few days until you want to make them.)

4. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Line 2 baking sheets with parchment.  Cut each log crosswise into 1/4 in. slices and arrange them 1 in. apart on the baking sheets.  (I found that a serrated knife cut them easily, and if they crumbled a little, I just pressed them back together.)  Bake 1 sheet at a time, turning the pan halfway through, til the edges are golden brown, about 10 minutes.  (I usually turn my oven 25 degrees lower than called for – consequence of dark pans and a hot oven – and mine still baked in 9 minutes.  You’ll definitely want to keep an eye on the first batch til you find what works in your oven.)  Place the pans on wire racks to cool.  (I cooled the cookies on the pan while the next batch baked, then I let the cookies finish cooling on a wire rack.)

Cinnamon Cornmeal WafersCinnamon Cornmeal Wafers 2

(Aren’t my snowman plates adorable?)  And that’s it for today.  I will be spending the weekend whipping up a mountain of treats that I’ll gladly share but not til after Christmas.  I hope you’ll be able to spend lots of time with your loved ones; I know I’m going to enjoy relaxing with my family.  Have a very Merry Christmas and don’t forget that Jesus is the reason for the season!

 

Leave a Reply

