Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Planning and Preparing for Fall September 19, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — foodfaithandfinds @ 12:17 PM
Tags: , , , ,

Fall is in the air, and I am loving every second of it.  Temperatures here have been milder (read 70’s and 80’s) which makes it exciting and actually comfortable to spend time outside.  By the way,  I could live at this temp 11 months out of the year (with the exception being for Christmas when I think it needs to get really chilly).  I have another little tidbit of exciting news.  A couple of weeks ago, we hit over 1,000 views on the blog.  Yay!!  Thank you so much for helping me reach this milestone; I couldn’t have done it without all of you.

Currently, you can head on over to the Target sample page and request a sample of Dove’s new Clear Tone deodorant.  I’m not sure what makes this deodorant different, but I like having sample deodorants around to throw in an overnight bag.  That way they don’t take up much space, and it’s no big deal if you accidentally leave it at your hotel.  That’s actually a big reason that I love any samples, it makes traveling so much easier.  It’s also nice because you have lots of sample for when people come to visit; you can set out a nice basket of toiletry samples, and they can take their pick.

I also wanted to let you know that there are some changes coming to the Starbucks reward program.  The changes will be implemented on October 16 and you can see the details here.  The sad changes are that green and gold level members will no longer get free soy milk or flavored syrups, and you will no longer get a free tall drink when you buy a pound of beans.  However, I think the other changes make up for this.  You can now get free refills on iced or brewed coffees or teas while you’re in the store.  They’ve also eliminated the need for a postcard to get your free birthday drink; they’ll just load the reward on your Starbucks card.  You can also use your reward to receive a food item instead of a drink.  Overall, these sound like good changes to me, and I’m excited to see what happens with them.

Speaking of changes, there will soon be a change to the blog because this is our next to the last post in our movie/recipe series.  I’m a little saddened to see it go, but I’m excited to debut a new holiday series in a couple of weeks.  I’m nearly bursting to tell you what it is, but I think it’ll be more fun if I keep it a surprise.

I’m very excited about our last 2 movie posts because they’re just such hilarious movies.  This week’s pick is The Wedding Planner.  In this movie, Mary (Jennifer Lopez) is a hyper-organized wedding planner whose love life is somewhat lacking.  After getting the heel of her shoe caught in a sewer cover, she is rescued from a runaway dumpster by Dr. Steve Edison (Matthew McConaughey).  Just when she thinks she might’ve found her chance at love, she discovers that he is the fiance of her biggest new account.  Throw in a match-making father, a fake fiance, and a few bridezilla moments to make this romantic comedy a hit.  (Trailer anyone?)  Overall there’s not much cursing or innuendo, but I do suggest that you skip the statue scene.  I find it crude and completely unnecessary to the story.  I really love how organized Mary is (anyone who alphabetizes their credit cards is my type of person), but the Massimo character can really get on my nerves (still, the “manly bonding” is hilarious).  Here are some of my favorite lines to tempt you to watch: “That mud did him good.”, “I look forward to our life together. I want three sons and a garden of tomatoes.”, “Pierre, I love you, but if you use another carnation in my bouquet, I will deport you.”, “You saved… my shoe.”, I promised my friend’s brother’s godmother that I would help her change her fax cartridge tonight because she’s going out of town tomorrow on an African safari.”, “I figure they [brown M&Ms] have less artificial coloring because chocolate’s already brown.”, “Oh, where’d you learn to dance like this?” “Ballroom class.” “Oh, you’re gay.” “Oh yeah, the gayest.”, “When I dance, I look like a retarded string bean.”, and “I want to apologize for any madness I caused you.”

There’s a scene in the movie where Mary and Steve are roasting marshmallows over a candle.  That always makes me crave s’mores; so I decided to make one of my sister and I’s favorite childhood treats: S’mores Bars.  The last few times I’ve made this, it didn’t turn out quite like I remember.  The taste is the same, but it’s been more crumbly.  I’m not quite sure why it’s been that way (Maybe because I’m in a different state?), but I still love making these because they taste so good.  I made these at one of my best friends’ house, and her son gave them a definite thumb’s up.

S’mores Bars (taken from Taste of Home)

3 c. graham cracker crumbs (1 box)

3/4 c. melted butter

1/3 c. sugar (I leave this out; the marshmallows are more than sweet enough.)

3 c. mini marshmallows (1 bag)

2 c. chocolate chips (1 bag)

1. Combine the crumbs, butter, and sugar together in a large bowl.  Press half of the mix into a lightly greased 13×9 in. pan.  Sprinkle the crust with the marshmallows and chocolate chips.  Top with the remaining crumb mix and press firmly.

2. Bake at 375 degrees for 10 min.  When it’s cooked, remove it from the oven and immediately press the top firmly with a spatula, (You might want to grease the spatula first so the marshmallows don’t stick.)  Cool completely (if you can wait) and cut into bars.

S’mores are definitely one of my favorite fall foods.  What’s one of yours?  Hope you have a great week.

 

2 Responses to “Planning and Preparing for Fall”

  1. Jenna Says:

    What a cute sampler of sweets! Wherever did you find such an adorable model? 8-P


Leave a Reply

