Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Some Changes and Things Remembered June 21, 2012

I wanted to start out by giving y’all a heads up about a little change I’m going to try out for a while.  For most of the time that I’ve been blogging, it worked out best for me to try to blog on either Monday or Tuesday.  For whatever reason, that’s not working anymore.  I hate the idea of missing a post, but I didn’t know what to do.  My weekends have been so busy lately that I spend most (if not all) of Monday and Tuesday just trying to catch up.  Finally it occurred to me that I could just change what day I blog!  For now, it seems that Wednesdays and Thursdays will be better options for me.  I know it might seem like a silly little change, but I wanted to keep you up to date about what’s going on.

Most of this post is going to concern things that I’ve known about for a while, but somehow forgotten to mention to you.  Things like one of my favorite restaurant dishes from a popular chain restaurant: the southwestern egg rolls from Chili’s.   We went to Chili’s for Father’s Day, and I remembered that I hadn’t mentioned these to you yet.  I know Chili’s isn’t the most gourmet, but the food is generally good and affordable.  When I’m not craving something specific that’s on their menu, I know I can always get my old favorite to enjoy.  Technically, the egg rolls are an appetizer, but they still fill me up (especially if we’ve had any chips and salsa to start with).  What do they taste like?  Chili’s describes them this way: “A crispy flour tortilla filled with smoked chicken, black beans, corn, jalapeño Jack cheese, red peppers and spinach. Served with avocado-ranch dressing.”  To me, they’re just delicious.  I keep promising myself that I will learn to re-create them; don’t worry, if I do, I’ll definitely share the recipe. 😀

We also recently re-watched a favorite movie that somehow didn’t make it on here.  The name of the movie is Facing the Giants.  It’s an earlier picture by the same people who made Fireproof and Courageous.  In this movie, a high school football coach is in a tough spot: his car is falling apart, his school is considering replacing him (since he hasn’t won a championship in his 6 years as coach), and he and his wife seem to be unable to have children.  When he’s at the end of his rope, he calls out to God for help and receives an unexpected answer.  Encouraged, he challenges his team to live their lives, football included, for God’s glory.  A revival sweeps the school and the football team also starts winning some games.  This movie is inspiring and touching; I highly recommend you give it a try soon.

This week’s movie choice is a huge favorite of mine.  Penelope is a fun, quirky film that just makes me laugh throughout the whole thing.  (Proof?  Watch this.)  In brief, Penelope was born under a family curse that gave her the nose and ears of a pig.  (Unbelievably, Christina Ricci manages to look cute with them.)  The only way the curse can be broken is if a blue blood will marry her.  Her mother (Catherine O’Hara) ruthlessly pushes suitors at her, but only one, Max (James McAvoy), reaches her.  When he turns down her proposal, she runs away into the city.  Eventually, she’s exposed, but, surprisingly, the people accept her.  And she does eventually find her happily ever after, but you’ll just have to watch it to find out how.  One thing that endears the movie to me is its quirky nature.  Penelope’s clothes are fun and unexpected (especially the purple coat, green pumps, and gorgeous wedding dress).  If I had to be locked inside all the time, I might not mind as much if I could live in her amazing bedroom.  My favorite scenes (though I love them all) are the magical scene where she enters the street fair (I love the party lights and bubbles!), her time with Annie, and the happy ending.  Here are a few of my favorite lines: “And upon their departure, they were invited back to the house. Where they were legally gagged into secrecy. I guess I looked even worse than I thought.”, “Either you print a retraction or I’m going to rip your guts out one gut at a time.”, and “Edward.” “What?” “Don’t lick Max.” “Sorry.”

Now, I had planned to make a certain dish for this movie, but it just didn’t work out.  I do still hope to make it soon, but I want it to be a surprise.  Instead, I ended up making these delicious white chocolate-coconut brownies from one of the food bloggers I follow.   These are rich, easy to make, and deliciously decadent.  Like she says, they are a great flavor combination with an addictively crispy top and a great flavor.  They’re also very easy to make; my soon to be SIL and I whipped them in just a few minutes.

White Chocolate-Coconut Brownies (from the Brown Eyed Baker)

1 1/3 c. all-purpose flour

1 tsp. salt

11 oz. coarsely chopped white chocolate

1 c. cubed butter

1 1/2 c. sugar

1/2 c. brown sugar

5 eggs

2 tsp. vanilla

1 c. coconut

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Butter a 9×13 pan and line it with parchment.  In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour and salt.

2. Put the white chocolate an butter in a large, heatproof bowl and set it over a pot of simmering water.  Stir the chocolate occasionally til it’s melted and smooth.  Turn off the heat, but keep the bowl over the water and add in the sugars.  Whisk til completely combined, then remove the bowl from the pan; the mix should be room temperature.

3. Add 3 eggs to the white chocolate mix and whisk til combined.  Add the last 2 eggs and whisk again til combined.  Add the vanilla and stir til combined.  Do not over beat.

4. Sprinkle the flour mix and coconut over the chocolate mix; then fold them in til just a bit of the flour is visible.

5. Pour the batter into the pan and smooth the top.  Bake 30 minutes, rotating halfway through, til a toothpick inserted in the center comes out with a few moist crumbs attached.  Cool completely before cutting.

I hope you have a great weekend.  If you get a spare minute, come back and share an oldie-but-goodie that you still love.

 

Leave a Reply

