Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Bursting full! May 7, 2012

Oh my goodness!  We have so much to talk about, and I’m so excited about all of it.

First, we’ve got some deals to discuss.  Don’t forget that tomorrow is Haagen-Dazs’s free cone day!  If you live near a store, you might want to plan an afternoon stop.  If you don’t live near a Haagen-Dazs shop, don’t worry, there’s a treat for you too.  Nearly everyone lives near a Starbucks, and from now until 5/13, they are having Frappuccino Happy Hour from 3-5 PM.  I just learned that they have a chai frap, so I’m hoping to stop by and try it for half price.  Don’t like coffee?  How about shakes?  All summer long, Sonic is offering their shakes for half price after 8 PM.  Hopefully, you’re able to take advantage of at least one of these great deals.

Last week, we talked about learning new facts.  This week I have a new trick for you.  If you’ve got a stand mixer (Yay for my Kitchenaid!), you’ve got a way to shred chicken in a flash.  I love using shredded chicken in soups, casseroles, and other delicious dishes, but I hate trying to shred it.  It takes too long, and I’m not very good at it.  I would usually ask my husband to do it for me (He doesn’t like doing it either, but since he’s faster than I am and a sweetie pie, he’ll do it for me if I ask.), but I needed it to be done before he got home, so it could go in our supper.  I remembered seeing something about this on Pinterest, so I thought I’d give it a try.  All you need to do is put your still warm chicken pieces in the mixer with the beater blade.  I turned mine on low and got perfectly shredded chicken in under 30 sec.  This is definitely one of my new favorite tricks; it’s fast and easy!

A few nights ago, my hubby and I got to relax and watch a movie together.  We decided to watch The Adventures of TinTin and had a really great time.   We had both expected it to be cute, but it was better than we thought it would be.  It’s very well done and had us cracking up laughing.  It’s a great family movie, and we’re hoping there might be some sequels.  It’s even it’s got me wanting to look into the originals.

I’ve also had a lot of luck lately reading good books.  Recently I’ve read 2 of the infamous “shoe” books (mentioned in You’ve Got Mail) and found them both to be delightful.  I don’t know why it took me so long to read them, but I’m glad I finally got around to it.  They’re all about little girls working hard to help their friends and family and to achieve their own dreams.  The girls are always relatable and often funny.  I like to read well-written children’s book, because they’re enjoyable and I usually don’t have to worry about running into crude/foul language or explicit adult scenes.  I also just finished the first book in the Guardians of Ga’Hoole series, The Capture.  I finished it in a day and a half (only because I needed sleep), and can’t wait to start the next book.  Kathryn Lasky writes so well that I immediately felt I was in the mysterious world of the owls.  I haven’t seen the movie yet, but I hope it does the books justice.  I also read a book that I think is a great reference for someone who’s looking to make more of their own pantry and refrigerator staples.  It’s called Can It, Bottle It, Smoke It, and I really enjoyed reading it.  Have you read any fabulous books lately?

Of course, the week wouldn’t be complete without another movie/recipe installation.  This week’s movie was one I’ve discussed beforeMorning Glory. (Trailer over here.)  Becky (Rachel McAdams) lost her job as a junior producer at a local morning show, so she jumps at the chance to be the senior producer at a dying, national morning show.  Unfortunately, the odds seem stacked against her.  After firing the creepy male anchor, she has to quickly find a suitable replacement.  She manages to convince one of her childhood heroes, former newscaster Mike Pomeroy (Harrison Ford), to reluctantly anchor alongside the hilarious Colleen (Diane Keaton).  She pulls out all the stops to keep her show on the air with truly hilarious results.  This is another movie that leans more to comedy with some romance alongside.  The chemistry between Harrison Ford, Rachel McAdams, and Diane Keaton is electric and really pulls the movie along with help from Patrick Wilson and the ever-sarcastic Jeff Goldblum.  Another aspect that makes this movie so great is the soundtrack.  I often mention soundtracks as a favorite part of a movie, so I thought I might explain what I mean a little more.  As a musician, the soundtrack can really clinch a movie for me.  Sometimes, it’s because the soundtrack is made up of songs I enjoy listening to, but the most important part is that they really underscore the mood of the movie.  I particularly like it when you get to the climax of the movie and are met by a really fun, upbeat track (which just so happens to be the case in Morning Glory).  Some of my favorite parts are Colleen’s signing on for “anything”, Becky’s boyfriend putting her phone in the freezer, Mike’s big story, Becky conquering her first staff meeting, and Mike’s apology.  Here are some of my favorite lines: “Sorry, that was an overshare.”, “Don’t mention that.”, “Welcome to Daybreak. Enjoy the pain, Gidget.”, and “You’re different and a deeply terrible mime.”

Frittatas have an important role in the movie, so I knew that that’s what I wanted to make.  (It’s also a nice change from all the sweets I’ve been making!)  This Greek frittata was easy to make and a delicious dinner.  The flavor was really great, but next time I’d probably wilt the spinach a little bit first.  I had to cook my frittata a little longer than it called for, and I think that would take care of the problem.

Greek Frittata (from Real Simple)

3 tbsp. olive oil

10 eggs

2 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. black pepper

1 5 oz. baby spinach

1 pint halved grape tomatoes

4 thinly sliced scallions

8 oz. crumbled feta

1. Heat the oven to 350 degrees.  Add the oil to a 2-qt casserole dish and put it in the oven for 5 minutes.

2. Meanwhile, in a bowl, whisk together the eggs, salt, and pepper.  Add the spinach, tomatoes, and scallions and combine.  Gently stir in the feta.

3. Remove the casserole dish from the oven and pour in the egg mix.  Bake til the frittata is browned around the edges and slightly puffed and a night inserted in the center removes cleanly, 25-30 minutes.

Hope you have a great rest of the night!

 

2 Responses to “Bursting full!”

  1. Rachel Says:

    yum…. frittata! will have to try this recipe. and i WILL get around to watching the movie – i’ve heard plenty of raves. 🙂

  2. […] love finding great deals and trying new products.  I did get to try the Starbucks chai frap that I told you about recently, and I loved it.  I think the reason that I love their chai products so much is that the […]


Leave a Reply

