Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Movies, Treats, and a “Stoup” March 6, 2012

In case you haven’t noticed, I enjoy watching movies, but I do NOT enjoy paying out the nose for them.  One of the best ways I’ve found to try out movies is through my local library.  I love, Love, LOVE libraries!  Luckily, San Antonio has a great library system that I get a lot of use from.  As I’ve mentioned previously, I get e-mails and texts from Redbox and Blockbuster Express that also give me chances to see newer movies for free.  In a recent e-mail they mentioned that you can use the code THANKS2U on this coming Thursday (the 8th) for a free movie rental.  A recent movie that I enjoyed (from the library) was Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day.  The beginning was a little iffy (be aware that there’s a quick shot of a man’s butt which you’ll want skip past), but as the movie progressed, I really enjoyed watching the characters develop.   The movie also has a great 30’s feel to it.

If you (like me) enjoy some ice cream while you watch movies, you might want to try the salted caramel truffle from Haagen-Dazs that I mentioned a while back.  I tried it tonight and it was as wonderful as the name suggests.  Hopefully, they’ll see how much everyone loves it and make it a permanent flavor.

For my husband’s lunches this week, I made him lasagna stoup.  According to Rachael Ray, a stoup is a cross between a stew and a soup.  This one’s a nice way to get the lasagna flavor without all the work.   Though I don’t mind the carrots, my husband doesn’t prefer them in this particular soup.  I also thought that the soup could use more sauce, so I added an extra 15 oz. can of diced tomatoes.

Lasagna Stoup (from Rachael Ray)

2 tbsp. extra-virgin olive oil

1 lb. ground sirloin

1 finely chopped onion

2 peeled, grated carrots

3-4 cloves finely chopped garlic

32 oz. chicken broth

1 28 oz. can Italian crushed tomatoes

1 lb. broken in pieces lasagna noodles

1 c. torn basil leaves

1 c. ricotta

1. In a soup pot, heat the oil over medium-high heat.  Add the beef, onion, carrots, and garlic and season with salt and pepper and cook til browned, 3-4 minutes.  Stir in 2 c. water, the broth, and the tomatoes; cover and bring to a boil.  Add the pasta and cook til al dente, about 15 minutes.  Stir in the basil and season with salt and pepper.  Serve in bowls with dollops of ricotta.

This week’s movie choice was the First Wives Club (A little more comedy than romance, but I think it still fits.).  The basic premise (trailer here) is that 3 middle-aged friends (played by Bette Midler, Diane Keaton, and Goldie Hawn) bond together while trying to get even with their husbands who dumped them for younger women.  They grow closer as friends and have a hilarious time teaching their husbands lessons.  The entire movie is so funny that I couldn’t even pick out favorite lines.  My favorite part is after Bette and Goldie’s characters have a fight that helps them change their outlook and build to the climax of the movie.

I was having a hard time thinking of a food that went with the movie.  There’s really not a lot of eating in the movie, but then I realized that there is quite a lot of drinking.  While I don’t drink alcohol, I thought it would be fun to make a mocktail, and this is a refreshing drink.  If I made this again, I might choose a different form of carbonation; I don’t care for the taste of seltzer water.

Pineapple Ginger Spritzer (from Eating Well)

4 c. unsweetened pineapple juice (I used concentrate.)

1 tbsp. chopped crystallized ginger

2 c. chilled seltzer water

Ice cubes

Pineapple spears for garnish

1. Combine pineapple juice and ginger in a pitcher.  Cover and chill for 2-24 hrs.  Strain the juice mix, discarding the ginger.

2. To serve, pour the juice into a tall glass over ice, filling each glass about 3/4 full.  Add seltzer to fill and garnish with the pineapple spears.

We’ve had some nice weather here; here’s hoping that you can enjoy some too (if you haven’t already).

 

Leave a Reply

