Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Thanksgiving Recipes, Samples, and Products to Try November 29, 2011

Welcome back!!  I hope y’all had as good of a Thanksgiving as I did.  As promised, I am going to share some of my favorite Thanksgiving recipes, plus some other samples that I’ve gathered for you in the past week.

First of all, a quick explanation of my Thanksgiving.  On Thanksgiving day, we go to my husband’s grandparent’s house for a large family Thanksgiving.  We do potluck style, so I just bring a couple of casseroles (more info a little later).  However, I’m a glutton for punishment; so, a day or two later, I make another whole Thanksgiving dinner because I love leftovers and I love to cook and try new recipes.

Let’s start with the casseroles that I take to the family dinner.  The first Thanksgiving after we were married I brought a corn casserole and a sweet potato casserole to the gathering.  They were such a huge hit that I am (happily) obliged to bring them every year for the rest of my life.

Now, the corn casserole is one that a roommate of mine shared with me during grad school.  I have no idea where she got it, but I’ve seen lots of similar versions on the internet.  I’ve made this for Thanksgiving, parties, and church potlucks, and it’s always a big hit.  Unfortunately, I don’t usually have leftovers to take home.  It’s probably not very healthy, but it’s easy, the prep time is quick, and it can be made ahead and reheated without compromising the taste.

Corn Casserole

1 15 oz. can corn

1 15 oz. can creamed corn

8 oz. sour cream

1 stick melted butter

1   8 1/2 oz. box cornbread mix (Jiffy is best.)

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Without draining the corn, mix all ingredients together.  Bake for 50 min.  Let cool until set, about 5-10 min.

Corn Casserole

The sweet potato casserole is one that my mother used to make for me during the holidays.  Again, I’m not sure where it originally came from, but I don’t think that I’m sharing a groundbreaking recipe so I’ll post it.

Sweet Potato Casserole

2 c. mashed sweet potatoes*

( *A small note: I prefer fresh mashed sweet potatoes.  I use about 2 large sweet potatoes to get about 2 c. mashed.  I’ll peel them, cut them in regular chunks, and boil them til fork tender.  Then I mash them and continue with the recipe.)

1/3 c. butter

1 c. sugar

1/2 tsp. salt

2 beaten eggs

1 tsp. vanilla

2 tbsp. flour

1 c. chopped pecans

1/3 c. flour

1/3 c. melted butter

1 c. brown sugar

1.  Mix together sweet potatoes, 1/3 c. butter (not melted), sugar, and salt.  Add eggs, vanilla, and 2 tbsp. flour.  Pour into a greased 9×13 in. dish.

2. In another bowl, mix together pecans, 1/3 c. flour, 1/3 c. melted butter, and brown sugar.  Sprinkle over the sweet potatoes.  Bake at 350 degrees for 35 min.

For my husband and I’s separate dinner, we only tried 1 new recipe.  Nevertheless, it was amazing, and I immediately knew I’d be sharing it with you.  It’s called Chocolate-Peanut Butter Truffle Pie.  Though it’s amazing, I’d still change a couple of things.  I didn’t put on the garnishes, but I would if I was taking it somewhere.  However, I think this pie would taste better (and require NO cooking) if you used a chocolate crumb crust.  I just didn’t feel that the regular pie crust added anything, so I don’t see the point of using it. Regardless of which crust you use, the peanut butter/cream cheese mix is absolutely delicious and I will be making this again.

Chocolate-Peanut Butter Truffle Pie (from Pillsbury.com)

1 pie crust

For the truffle layer:

1/2 c. whipping cream

1 c. dark chocolate chips

1/2 tsp. vanilla

For the peanut butter layer:

1 c. whipping cream

1 8 oz. pkg. softened cream cheese

1 c. peanut butter

1 c. confectioner’s sugar

For garnish:

1/4 c. dark chocolate chips

1 tbsp. shortening

2 tbsp. coarsely chopped peanuts

1. Heat the oven to 450 degrees.  In a 9 inch glass pie plate, bake the crust as directed on the package.  Cool on a wire rack 15 minutes.

2. In a 2 quart saucepan, heat 1/2 cream over medium-high heat til hot.  Remove from the heat and stir in the chocolate and vanilla til smooth.  Spread in the bottom of the crust and freeze for 15 minutes.

3. In a medium bowl, beat 1 cup of cream on high til stiff peaks form; set aside.  In another bowl, beat the cream cheese, peanut butter, and confectioner’s sugar on medium til smooth; fold in the whipped cream.  Spread over the truffle layer.  Refrigerate til set, about 2 hours.

4. In a small microwavable bowl, nuke the 1/4 cup chocolate chips and shortening on high for 30-60 seconds, stirring every 15 seconds, til melted.  Drizzle over the pie and sprinkle with nuts.

I also have another recipe to share, but it’s not from Thanksgiving.  A couple days before Thanksgiving, my best friend and I were trying to figure out what to make for dinner.  On a whim, we decided to stir fry some chicken and make a satay sauce to go with it.  I’m not sure if this is an authentic satay, but the taste is delicious and it was gobbled up.  This is also going to be making repeat appearances  in my repertoire.

Creamy Peanut Dipping Sauce (from Martha Stewart)

1/2 c. peanut butter

1/2 c. warm water

1/4 c. lime juice

1 tbsp. soy sauce

4 tsp. sugar

1. In a medium bowl, whisk together the water and peanut butter til smooth.  Whisk in the lime juice, soy sauce, and sugar.

To start off our sampling, I wanted to let you know that the Nescafe FB offer is working again.  It looks like their FB page is getting slammed, so you may have to keep checking back.

Armani also has an offer on their facebook page.  If you “like” them here, you can request a sample of Code and Sport.  Since the Sport is one of my new favorite colognes for my husband to wear, I was very excited to get more of it and to get another scent to try.

The last thing I wanted to tell you about was a couple of companies that makes some great products that I’m going to be keeping an eye on.  One of the last times I visited Costco, they were handing out samples from Kerrygold.  Kerrygold is an Irish company that imports some amazing cheeses and butters.  We got to try one of their aged cheddars and a Dubliner cheese, both of which were delicious and flavorful.  We also got to try a little butter, but there wasn’t enough to taste a difference.  Luckily, I had a coupon for a free Kerrygold butter product, so I purchased a tub of their new softer butter.  My husband and I spread it on our store brand crescent rolls for Thanksgiving and thought they tasted amazing.  At the time, I wasn’t sure if it was the butter or the roll (not having tried that particular store brand roll before).  Having leftovers a few days later, I tried it again.  This time, one of my rolls didn’t get enough butter.  Though the roll was adequate, it made it clear that the amazing taste had come from the delicious Irish butter.  To me this is amazing, since I generally prefer the taste of margarine to butter on rolls.  (What can I say, I grew up on margarine.)  We’ll be saving the rest for some special biscuits or rolls, but I can definitely recommend it for a nice splurge.  You can check here to see if it’s sold near you.

The same day, we got to try a bit of a cookie and a scone from the Immaculate Baking Co.  The scone was too biscuit-like for my taste, but the cookie (we tried a ginger spice) was to die for.  The smell of it baking had wafted out of the store, and we’d smelled it appreciatively on our way in.  Once we tasted it, we had a hard time not going back and buying a whole bag to make.  (They are a bit pricey, but that flavor at least would’ve been worth it if we’d had the money.)  The overall flavor that I tasted was the clove, and I might be trying to replicate these in the future.

That’s a lot of info for one post, but I hope you enjoyed it and got some new ideas.  See you soon!

 

3 Responses to “Thanksgiving Recipes, Samples, and Products to Try”

  1. […] devouring the sauce-coated steak.  We served ours with some simple roasted asparagus and leftover corn casserole.  This is a quick and easy dinner to whip up and the sauce could really be used to top any […]

  2. […] maternal grandparent’s house for our usual potluck dinner.  I brought double batches of corn casserole and green bean casserole.  Then on Saturday, I cooked our own small dinner for the two of us. […]

  3. […] you busy prepping for your Thanksgiving feast tomorrow?  I’ve finished a triple batch of corn casserole, and a triple batch of sweet potato casserole (it’s at the same link) is currently baking in […]


Leave a Reply

