Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Deals, Food Finds, and a Word for Today November 21, 2011

Happy Thanksgiving!!!!   I know it’s not til Thursday, but I wanted to say it early since I’ll be spending the day with my family.  Since the holidays are coming, I’m hoping that we’ll see more and bigger samples and deals coming.  In the meantime, I do have a few to get us started.

You can go to the Target sample page to request a sample of Woolite Extra Care Dark Detergent.  You might want to hurry since their samples tend to run out quickly.

You can also like Atelier Cologne on Facebook to request a sample of a perfume called Orange Sanguine.  Being a Florida girl, I am somewhat partial to anything citrus, so I’m very excited to try this out.

And for a treat and possibly a Christmas present, you can go here to print a coupon for Bath & Body Works that will let you get 1 free item (up to a $13 value) with a purchase of $10 or more.  I like to use these to buy multiple sale items and then receive something else free.  Or you could buy several of their travel sizes for some special stocking stuffers.  Right now they have some great holiday scented candles, a new yummy scent called Be Enchanted, and a great new aromatherapy scent called Nighttime Tea.  The coupon doesn’t expire until Christmas Eve, so I hope you can find something you like.

Now, I was able to take advantage of the hot Starbucks deal I posted last time, so I wanted to tell you what I thought.  I ordered the Gingerbread Latte, and my hubby got the Peppermint Mocha.  Surprisingly enough, I wasn’t that fond of mine.  I don’t know if it’s just how mine was made or if they’re all like this, but it was bitter (at least too bitter for my taste).  What I could taste of the gingerbread flavor was good; I just couldn’t get past the bitterness.  My husband thought it tasted fine (he used to be a barista and likes bitter), so he very sweetly swapped me drinks.  The peppermint mocha was delicious and very festive.  I hope you got to try one and treat a loved one too.

I recently heard about a new Heinz ketchup that I’m interested to try.  For those of you that know me, please don’t have a heart attack.  In case you’re wondering about that last statement, I am not a fan of ketchup.  At all.  I prefer to dip my fries in a Wendy’s frosty to any version of ketchup, but this one might change my mind.  Heinz has recently introduced a ketchup made with balsamic vinegar.  I am quite a fan of balsamic, so I’m seriously considering buying a bottle and trying this out.  Hopefully, I can find it before the limited edition ends.

Since Thanksgiving is just around the corner, I did want to mention a favorite side idea for the days before or after; something that you can make easily to clean out your fridge in preparation or to use up leftover veggies.  (Recipes will come after Thanksgiving, since I’m sure y’all already have your menus planned out.)  My favorite way to eat nearly any vegetable is the same: roasting!  A little olive oil, salt, and pepper combine with high heat to bring out the flavor of nearly any vegetable.  I’ve recently discovered the splendor of roasted carrots; before that, I would’ve told you that I only eat carrots raw, but this has changed my mind forever.  Some other favorites of mine are sweet potatoes, broccoli, cauliflower, zucchini, asparagus, and brussels sprouts.

Now for the highly anticipated Word for Today.  The Word for Today is splendor.  According to the Merriam Webster Dictionary, splendor means great brightness or luster, brilliancy, magnificence, pomp, or something splendid.  I was recently reading a story where the royalty was referred to as “your splendor” instead of “your highness.”  That caught my attention and got me thinking; you hardly ever see the word splendor (or its counterpart, splendid) used anymore.  To my thinking, that’s a shame because they’re such beautiful and descriptive terms.  In case you missed it, I already used the Word for Today  in this post.  Did anyone see it?  If not, here a freebie for you:  I hope y’all have a splendid week!

 

Leave a Reply

