Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Samples, soda, and a sweet November 7, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — foodfaithandfinds @ 8:15 PM
Tags: , , , ,

I’ve seen a lot of fragrance samples cropping up lately.  To me, they’re some of the most exciting samples that are available.  With food, you generally know if you’re going to like something or not.  With toiletries, well, they’re not that exciting and they’re all pretty much the same anyway.  But with perfumes.  Perfumes are so chance-y.  You could be absolutely rapturous over them, or they could give you a migraine (at least that’s what happens to me).  Even though I know they could give me a serious headache, I can’t help but order as many as I can find.  Because when you find that fabulous one, there’s nothing like it.  It’s the thrill of the hunt and the exultation of victory. That little spiel being said, who wants to order some free perfume ?

If you answered: “ME, ME, PICK ME” then a. You’re my kind of person.  and b. Step right up and take a look.  If you go here, then you can request one of several samples of Lacoste perfumes or colognes.

You can also go here to request samples of John Frieda Full Repair Full Body Shampoo and Conditioner.

Now, I’m not sure if you can get these or not, but I’m going to tell you about them just in case.  I have Betty Crocker and Pillsbury memberships.  They send me an e-mail about once a week.  But around this time of year, they usually send me e-mails asking if I would like a free calendar for the next year.  I’ve gotten them for several years, and I really like them.  I don’t have to buy a calendar, and theirs have really yummy pictures of food (with recipes!).  I’ve already gotten the e-mail from Betty Crocker, though not the one from Pillsbury.  I don’t know if they’ll offer you the calendars if you sign up soon, but it’s worth a shot.  And even if they don’t, you’ll be all set for next year.  🙂

Now, if you know me at all, you know that I’m pretty much addicted to Diet Coke.  It’s my favorite drink of all time.  That’s not to say that I don’t like other drinks.  I like lemonade, root beer, hot tea, flavored sparkling water, and fruit juices.  I just like Diet Coke best.  Now, my TX best friend and I have recently discovered Izze’s.  They are a delicious combination of sparkling water and fruit juice.  There are so many flavors, and we really want to try them all.  In case you also haven’t tried these, they are (most of them) absolutely delicious.  So far we’ve tried the grapefruit (amazing), the clementine (delicious), the blackberry (very tasty), the peach (very good), and the ginger (kind of like watered down ginger ale – not so great).  Unfortunately, they aren’t very easy to find, so it’ll probably take us a while to try them all, but we’re having a good time trying to find and try them all.  If you haven’t tried them yet, I highly recommend them.

The last thing I wanted to tell you about was another wonderful treat that I recently got to experience at Panera: babka.  Apparently, their latest thing is coffee cakes.  I already told you how much I enjoyed the NY style crumb cake.  This time, I got to try the Babka.   It’s a brioche dough swirled with chocolate and pecans and topped with a sugar glaze.  I bit into it and it just melted in my mouth.  Because the chocolate and pecans are swirled into it, each bite is different.  The flavors meld so deliciously, and just when you think it’s going to be doughy, you get the wonderful taste of the pecans mixed with the richness of the chocolate.  I’m craving another slice just talking about it.  Though it’s not how I ate it, I expect that it would be delightful with a cup of hot tea or coffee.  Just another wonderful fall treat that I hope you’ll enjoy.  Ciao!

 

Leave a Reply

