Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Fabulous Fall! October 24, 2011

Let me start off by saying that I LOVE fall.  I always say that my favorite season is Christmas, but otherwise, fall is my favorite season.  I love the crispness in the air, the color of leaves as they change, the feeling that the Christmas season is coming soon!  And I love the food!  I am a seasonal person.  I like different foods and activities in different seasons.  Maybe one of the reasons I like fall so much is that I consider it the comfort season.  The foods I crave are my comfort foods: chili, pasta, hot chocolate, and so on.  Some of my favorite fall lunch foods are sandwiches.  During the fall, I crave savory sandwiches that are filled with what I consider to be fall flavors.

The first sandwich is called the ABC sandwich.  You take 2 pieces of multigrain bread and smear one side of each piece with a little good mustard (I prefer whole grain).  Then you layer the bread with thinly sliced, crisp apples, crispy bacon, and slices of sharp cheddar (white is really good).  I know that it might sound a little strange, but it’s a great combination.  Some of my friends made faces when I mentioned it, but then when they tried it, they liked it too.

ABC Sandwich 2

Another quick and easy sandwich is PB&B.  I really enjoy peanut butter and bacon sandwiches.  Now don’t make that face!  You can’t knock it until you’ve tried it.  I made that same face when I first read about it, but it’s insanely good.  The smokiness of the bacon goes really well with the nuttiness of the peanut butter (and, yes, I’m silly enough that I meant to say that).  I like to pre-cook bacon in the oven and store it in the freezer, so that I can eat this sandwich whenever the mood strikes.

I also have another favorite fall sandwich that’s relatively new to me but still just as good.  I recently read an idea in a magazine that sounded delicious; so I tried it and fell in love.  You take a piece of bread and slather it with some type of nut butter (I only ever have peanut butter), drizzle on maple syrup (I use pancake syrup for now, but I’m determined to buy real maple syrup to try it with.), and sprinkle with sea salt.  It’s nutty, sweet, and salty all at the same time.

My final fall fave is the perennial favorite: grilled cheese.  Grilled cheese is so good for fall because it’s warm and comforting (probably because of the high amounts of cheese and butter).  And grilled cheese is so wonderfully versatile.  In summer, I like it with tomatoes and cheddar.  In fall, I love it with Swiss and bacon or Swiss and sauteed mushrooms.  These are my favorites, but I’d love to hear some of yours.

Now, for desserts in fall, I also have some seasonal cravings.  First of all, is candy corn and mallowcreme pumpkins.  How can you not love those little bundles of sugary happiness whose presence in the store alerts you to the oncoming chilly season?  As for things you can make, I have only recently discovered the wonder of baked apples.  My first experience with them came with this recipe last fall.  Since then, I’ve turned to them on chilly nights as a semi-nutritious, simple dessert.  Though the recipe I started with used a whole, cored apple; now, I prefer to chop the apples before baking so that they cook faster.  Then I top them with something creamy like cool whip or ice cream and happily chow down.

I hope you like fall too, and I’d love to hear some of your favorite things about it.  Have a good rest of the week; hope it’s chilly where you are.

 

Leave a Reply

