Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Beauty Samples, Eating Out in Austin, and Awesome Enchiladas October 17, 2011

Wow!  I had a great weekend, so I hope you did too.  We went to a family wedding near Austin (in Round Rock, to be specific), and I ate some fabulous food that I just couldn’t wait to tell y’all about.  On the drive up, we stopped at a Cracker Barrel for lunch.  I’ve been eating at Cracker Barrel since I was a little girl, and I’ve come to the conclusion that I’m incapable of ordering anything besides breakfast.  I honestly can’t remember ever ordering anything else.  This time I decided to try a new (or possibly just seasonal) menu item: Apple Streusel French Toast.  The descriptions called it “Three slices of our sweet apple streusel bread made with bits of real apple, dipped in eggs then grilled to a golden brown. Topped with our cinnamon apple dumplin’ syrup and real butter.”  I couldn’t tell there were apple bits in it, but it was still amazing.  It was truly a perfect fall breakfast.  (On a completely unrelated side note, the grits were fabulous.  Why do I always forget how much I like them?  Note to self: make them more often!) (On another side note, why have I never thought to buy/make a fancy bread like cinnamon raisin and then use it for french toast.?)

Unfortunately, this next fabulous food is only found in Round Rock, TX.   It’s the world-famous Round Rock Donuts.  They are seriously the best doughnuts I’ve ever tasted.  (And if you knew how much I adored Krispy Kreme, you’d know that’s not a cheap compliment.)  I first heard about them on an episode of Man v. Food and decided that I would have to try them if I was ever in the area.  The Texas sized ones (which they’re famous for) are neat, but I think the best taste come from the regular sized doughnuts when they’re straight off the line.  They are sweet, slightly orange-y, and melt in your mouth.  Do not miss a chance to try these if you’re nearby.

I’ve also run across a couple of neat beauty finds lately.  If you go here, you can order a sample of an Escada fragrance, either Especially Escada or Taj Sunset.  I ordered the Taj Sunset, though I wished I could have gotten one of each.

My other beauty find is not as guaranteed, but it’s a full size product.  If you go to the L’Oreal Paris facebook page and “like” them, you should be able to enter their “Never Fake It Again” sweepstakes.  You can enter once a day til November 9th.  Every day, they’re giving away 1,000 full-sized tubes of their new Voluminous False Fiber Lashes mascara.  They tell you right away if you’re a winner (which I appreciate), and I already won.  I don’t know if you’re eligible to enter again after winning, but I figured I don’t really need more than one and it’d be nice to give other people (like my faithful readers!) a better chance to win.  When the sample comes in, I’ll let you know if it’s as good as they claim.  (Updated here.)

Now for the awesome enchiladas.  A couple of years ago, my in-laws took me to a birthday dinner at a Mexican restaurant called Chuy’s.  They were testing possible new menu options.  I ordered one of them, the Enchiladas Blanca: a cheese and chicken enchilada topped with a spicy sour cream sauce.  They didn’t end up putting it on the menu (even though it was delicious), and I’ve been searching for a similar recipe ever since.  This recipe definitely fits the bill.  We tried it today with some impressive results.

White Chicken Enchiladas with Green Chile Sour Cream Sauce (from Let’s Dish)

8-10 flour tortillas (We prefer to use corn.)

2 c. shredded monterey jack

2 c. shredded, cooked chicken

3 tbsp. flour

3 tbsp. butter

2 c. chicken broth

1 c. sour cream

1 4 oz. can diced green chiles

1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.  In a small bowl, mix together the chicken and cheese.  Divide this mixture equally between the tortillas.  Roll the tortillas up and place them seam side down in a lightly greased 9×13 pan.

2. In a saucepan, melt the butter.  Once it’s melted, stir in the flour and cook 1 minute.  Add in the broth, whisking til smooth.  Cook over medium heat til thick and bubbly.  Right before serving, stir in the sour cream and chiles.  Pour the sauce over the enchiladas in the pan and top with the remaining 1 c. of cheese.  Bake for 20-25 minutes.

      

The recipe is easy and the results are delicious.  For our dinner, I cut the recipe in half and used an 8×8 pan.  I think this recipe is also great because it’s so easy to customize.  You can easily add your favorite ingredients and flavorings.

Right before I started this post, I had a brainstorm idea for a post.  However, I decided to save it for next week so I can fully develop it.  Stay tuned!

 

One Response to “Beauty Samples, Eating Out in Austin, and Awesome Enchiladas”

  1. […] you remember a couple of months ago when I told you about a FB sweepstakes to win a free tube of mascara?  I told you that I had won […]


Leave a Reply

