Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Restaurant Delights and a Thought to Ponder October 11, 2011

Well, I have had a busy week (including helping some friends move and shopping for a dress to attend a wedding), but not much of it is bloggable (if that wasn’t a word before, it is now!).  However, I have been treated out lately by my best friend and my mother in law, so I thought I’d share some of the treats I really enjoyed so that you can try them too.

A couple of times now, my best friend has treated me to a meal at a restaurant called Cheddars.  While the food is good, the big draw for us is the honey butter croissants (Come on, do I really need to say more?)  I’ll warn you upfront, that you have to pay about $2 for a plate of 3, but I could go there and just eat a plate of them and be happy.  They are so addictively good, don’t be surprised if you see a recipe soon about me trying to recreate them (or at least the honey butter part on store-bought croissants).

I also got another chance to go to Panera and found another favorite treat.  At the end of the meal, my MIL decided to get us some bakery treats.  They had a little bit of special on the pumpkin cookies (shaped, not flavored) so that’s what we got.  I thought they were iced sugar cookies, which really aren’t my type of cookie. (All cookies have sugar in them, they’re just plain cookies with icing on top.  Boring!)  Surprise, surprise!  They were some of the most marvelous shortbread cookies I’ve ever tasted.  They were buttery and crumbly with a delicious and lightly orange flavored icing.  So now you have another reason to go visit the wonderful Panera!

The last restaurant treat I have for you is a little healthier (not much though).  I also got to go Red Robin with my MIL on another shopping trip.  They’re supposedly famous for their burgers, but what I love are their sweet potato fries and their …

(wait for it)

… FRIED ZUCCHINI!!!!

They slice the zucchini into spears, dip it in a tempura batter, and fry it to a lovely crispiness that gets served with a creamy ranch.  They are just amazing and certainly my favorite thing on the menu.  You can get both of them served as an appetizer, but that’s all I really care about.  I will say that the sweet potato fries get served with a spicy ketchup that I don’t care for.  I just ask for another ramekin of ranch because it works perfectly with both veggies.  Now that I’ve shared several of my favorite restaurant treats, I’d love to hear some of yours.

The last thing I wanted to share was a poignant quote that I found while reading a C.S. Lewis essay entitled “On Obstinacy in Belief.”  I’ll leave you with just the quote since I think it says it all. “We trust not because a God’ exists, but because THIS God exists.”

 

One Response to “Restaurant Delights and a Thought to Ponder”

  1. […] Groupon is currently offering a deal where you pay $10 to get $20 worth of food at Red Robin (which has amazing fried zucchini).  If you live near a Red Robin, you might want to check your local Groupon offerings, since they […]


Leave a Reply

