Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Fun Forms and Muffins That Taste Like Scones September 20, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — foodfaithandfinds @ 4:39 PM
Tags: ,

A few days ago, a very strange e-mail appeared in my inbox.  At first I thought it was just spam, but it said that it had been sent from my husband’s e-mail.  I opened it, and discovered that my husband had sent me a Declaration of Romantic Intent from a neat website called the Bureau of Communication.  I don’t know how he found it, but it’s a really neat site that lets you print or e-mail some funny and neat fill-in-the-blank forms.  I would say that, if you plan to e-mail them to someone, you might want to give them a heads up so they don’t think it’s spam (my husband sent me a text, I just wound up seeing the e-mail first).

Oh, and in case you were wondering, I sent him a thank you form in reply.  🙂

Now, tonight is my bi-monthly Ladies’ Bible Study, and I am bringing the refreshments.  I decided to try a new muffin recipe called Cream Cheese Cranberry Muffins.  Since the refreshments are supposed to be finger food, I decided to bake them in a mini muffin pan.  Let me tell you, they turned out better than I ever could have imagined.  They taste just like some of my favorite scones!!!!!  (Amazingly enough, I’m still taking them; I’m just hoping there’ll be plenty left.)  I did a few things differently, but I don’t think that would change the flavor if you made them as directed.  First of all, I used craisins instead of whole cranberries, mostly because I always have craisins and it’s not exactly cranberry season (but soon!).  Secondly, I didn’t use pecans or the glaze: I don’t currently have pecans, and I think the muffins are actually fine without the glaze.  Last of all, I added a little bit of lemon juice and zest, just to brighten up the flavors.  I always like a little citrus with my craisins.  If you want to cook them in minis like mine, they’ll only cook for 15-18 minutes, but you’ll make 2-3 pans of them (depending on how much you fill the cups).  Now, I don’t think scones are hard to make, but these are even easier.  It’s also nice that they take a whole block of cream cheese ( a little cheaper and you’re not left with 1 1/2 c. of heavy cream to find a use for.)

Cream Cheese Cranberry Muffins (from Taste of Home.com)

1 c. softened butter

1 8 oz. pkg. softened cream cheese

1 1/2 c. sugar

1 1/2 tsp. vanilla

4 eggs

2 c. all-purpose flour

1 1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

2 c. cranberries

1/2 c. chopped pecans

1. In a large mixing bowl, cream the butter, cream cheese, sugar, and vanilla.  Add in the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.  In a separate bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, and salt; stir the flour mix into the butter mix  just til moistened.  Fold in the cranberries and pecans.

2. Fill 24 greased muffin cups 3/4 full.  Bake at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes or til a toothpick inserted in the center removes cleanly.  Cool the muffins for 5 minutes in the pan; remove from the pan and cool completely on a wire rack.

I know it’s a short one today, but I hope you enjoyed it.  Talk to you again soon!

 

One Response to “Fun Forms and Muffins That Taste Like Scones”

  1. […] are also a few muffin recipes already on the blog that you can check out: Cream Cheese Cranberry Muffins, S’mores Muffins, sausage brunch muffins, peanut butter and chocolate chunk muffins, lemon […]


Leave a Reply

