Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Worth the Wait August 16, 2011

The day has finally arrived!!!  You get to hear about the yummies I’ve been teasing you about for the past couple of weeks.  But first we have some other business to take care of.

If you go here, you can currently receive a free sample of a Mary Kay perfume called Belara.  It looks like the samples might be changing, so it could be something different if you wait a few days.

I also wanted to let you know that Skinny Cow has a type of fan club, called Club Skinny, where the more you participate, the more often you’ll get coupons or free products.

And just to drag out the suspense a little longer, I wanted to tell you about a yummy product I discovered.  I don’t know if any of you remember, but back in the day, Burger King was actually cool and served yummy food (I don’t know how it is where you live, but I haven’t seen a good one for a while now.).  And one of their best ideas (to me, anyway) was that they served these yummy slices of pie in a little triangular box.  My favorite pie was chocolate and vanilla and sort of had an ice cream texture.  Well, last week I had a coupon for $1 off a box of Edward’s single frozen desserts.  So my husband and I picked out the Hershey’s Chocolate Cream Pie.  As I’m sure you’ve guessed already, it was the same pie that BK served ages ago, and it was just as yummy as I remembered it.  The directions say you can serve straight from the freezer, or let it thaw for 30 minutes or so in the fridge.  I like a firmer texture, and thought it was great served straight from the freezer.  Naturally, it’s already gone, but I can’t wait to find another coupon like that and relive BK’s glory days again.  (Now if I could just find a decent flame-broiled whopper.)

And now, what you’ve all been waiting for and wondering about, the delicious treat made for my SIL’s 21st birthday: Red. Velvet. Cheesecake.  My SIL loves all things Red Velvet, and she thought this would be a great new way to try it.  I found this recipe thanks to Pinterest (so amazing!), but really, we should be thanking whatever genius came up with it.  I’ve seen several similar recipes, but this one seemed reliable and most like a red velvet cake.  It was rich and delicious.   The chocolate flavor didn’t come through a lot, which I don’t mind but some people might prefer to amp it up.  The only thing I did differently from the recipe was that I baked it about 45 min. longer.  The directions say to bake til the center is firm, and I thought it seemed ok, but I decided to be on the safe side and bake it a little longer just to be sure.

Red Velvet Cheesecake (from MyRecipes.com)

For the crust:

17 finely crushed oreo cookies  (I tend to use chocolate animal crackers since they’re cheaper and work just as well.  Also, if I’m going to spend that much money on oreos, I want to eat them!)

1/4 c. melted butter

1 tbsp. sugar

For the cheesecake:

3 8 oz. packages softened cream cheese

1 1/2 c. sugar

4 lightly beaten eggs

3 tbsp. cocoa

1 c. sour cream

1/2 c. buttermilk

2 tsp. vanilla

1 tsp. white vinegar

2 oz. red food coloring

For the topping: (I prefer half this amount.)

3 oz. softened cream cheese

1/4 c. softened butter

2 c. confectioner’s sugar

1 tsp. vanilla

1. Stir together all the crust ingredients and press them into the bottom of a 9 in. springform pan.  Preheat the oven to 325 degrees.

2.   Beat the 3 packages of cream cheese with the 1 1/2 c. sugar on medium-low for 1 minute.  Add the eggs, cocoa, sour cream, buttermilk, 2 tsp. vanilla, vinegar, and food coloring and mix on low til fully combined.  Pour into the crust.

3. Bake the cheesecake 10 minutes, reduce the heat to 300 degrees, and bake 75 minutes more or til the center is firm.  (The several times that I’ve made this I’ve had to cook it for 2 hours, rather than just 75 minutes.  Just check on it and turn the heat off only when the center is firm.)  When the center is firm, leave the cheesecake in the oven, turn the oven off, and let the cheesecake stand in the oven for 30 minutes.  Then remove it from the oven and let cool.  When cool, refrigerate for at least 8 hours.

4. In a small bowl, beat together the 3 oz. cream cheese and butter and medium til smooth.  Gradually add the confectioner’s sugar and 1 tsp. vanilla, beating til smooth.  Spread evenly over the cooled cheesecake.  (You can do this before or after refrigeration.)

Anyway, I hope you agree with me that it was worth the wait to try it.  Have fun and bake something yummy!

 

2 Responses to “Worth the Wait”

  1. Dad Says:

    SIL? Sister-in-law? Someone get married I don’t know about? Son-in-law? Don’t think so? So what gives?


Leave a Reply

