Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Prelude to the Goods August 9, 2011

So, the new recipes won’t be coming til next week, but I didn’t want to leave you hanging all week.  There’s just a couple of things, but I really think you’ll like them.

The first thing is that I got to try the new Ben & Jerry’s Red Velvet Cake flavor.  If you like red velvet cake, than this ice cream is for you.  It’s a red velvet cake batter ice cream with red velvet pieces and a cream cheese frosting swirl; it tastes just like a red velvet cake in ice cream form.

Recently, I revisited an amazing Ina Garten recipe for Peanut Butter and Jelly Bars.  They are just fabulous!  I’ve made them before with the raspberry jam, which is great.  This time I did half with strawberry (amazing!) and half with plum.  It’s just as yummy, though the plum flavor didn’t really come through.  You definitely don’t want to skimp on the jam, since it adds moisture.  I’ve also made this with half whole wheat flour, and it adds a nice depth to it.  Best of all, when you warm this up or eat it right out of the oven, it just tastes amazing.

Peanut Butter and Jelly Bars (mildly tweaked from Food Network)

1 c. softened butter

1 1/2 c. sugar

1 tsp. vanilla

2 room temperature eggs

2 c. peanut butter

3 c. all-purpose flour

1 tsp. baking powder

1 1/2 tsp. salt

1 1/2 c. raspberry jam (or whatever jam you want)

2/3 c. chopped salted peanuts (I think it’s better with this, but it’s not necessary.)

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Grease and flour a 9×13 inch pan.  In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugar on medium til light yellow, about 2 minutes.  On low, add the vanilla, eggs, and peanut butter, and mix til well combined.

2. In a small bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, and salt.  With the mixer on low, slowly add the flour mix to the pb mix.  Mix just til combined.

3. Spread 2/3 of the dough in the bottom of the pan, using a knife to spread it evenly.  Spread the jam evenly over the dough.  Drop the remaining dough by teaspoons over the jam.  Sprinkle with the peanuts and bake 45 minutes or til golden brown.

Peanut Butter and Jelly BarsPeanut Butter and Jelly Bars 2

The last thing I wanted to tell you about was a video that I really enjoyed.  Have you ever wondered where dragon myths came from?  There’s a video out called Dragons or Dinosaurs? by Darek Isaacs (there’s a book too, but I haven’t read it yet) that explains with a lot of helpful evidence where many scientists who are Christians explain where they believe the myths came from.  I don’t want to spoil it for you (though you can probably guess where it’s going), but I do highly suggest you watch it.

That’s all for now, but I am literally baking up some new treats that I can’t wait to tell you about.  Have a great week!

 

One Response to “Prelude to the Goods”

  1. […] This past week has been a lot of fun.  I got to try some new flavors and recipes, and I made my 2nd trip to the fabulous Ikea!  This time I went with a couple girlfriends, and we spent an insane amount of time there.  (I’m not saying we spent 2 hours in the kitchen marketplace alone, but it could have happened.)  I am still completely enamored with this wonderful store, and we’re hoping to take another trip in the fall.  One thing I noticed this time was the abundance of cute and affordable throws.  This one and this one both struck me as being a perfect companion to a good book on a rainy day.  I also got to taste a piece of their lingonberry chocolate.  I loved the taste of it so much that I’m determined to buy some lingonberry jam on my next trip.  (To me, it tasted like a cross between raspberry and blueberry.  Delish!  I think it would be the perfect jam to star in another helping of these PB&J Bars.) […]


Leave a Reply

