Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

All about food July 9, 2011

Well, it’s been longer than I planned, but I’ve been (and still am) battling one of those awful summer colds, so I haven’t really had the energy to post.  And since I’ve been sick, I haven’t done a lot of cooking, but I do have a few things to share with you – all food related.

If you go to this site, you can order a free sample of Honey Nut Cheerios.  And over here, you can print a coupon for a buy 1 get 1 free smoothie from McDonald’s.  They have a new Mango Pineapple flavor that sounds yummy.

I was recently reading the August issue of the Everyday with Rachael Ray magazine, and they had a really neat idea.  Apparently, you can take a box cake mix (they suggested funfetti for a birthday), prepare it according to package directions, and cook it on a griddle like pancakes.  Oh my cow!!!  I have to try that!  In the picture, it looked like they used a confectioner’s sugar glaze to top it with.  As a fan of cakes and pancakes, this sounds like genius, and I can’t wait to give it a try.

While I was sick, I remembered something that I had meant to post about.  A couple weeks ago, I went out to Olive Garden with my MIL, future SIL, and her sisters.  My future SIL and I split their Florentine Pizza.  The menu describes it as “Spinach, mozzarella, and sun-dried tomatoes with creamy parmesan sauce; drizzled with balsamic glaze.”  The pizza is good, but what makes it spectacular is the balsamic glaze.  It just changes the whole flavor of the pizza and the tomatoes.  If you go there, I highly suggest you try it.  And if I can find some glaze or a recipe for some, then I’m going to try to recreate it at home.

And remembering that reminded me about a money-saving tip to tell you about.  It is a really good idea to sign up for e-mails from your favorite restaurants.  Often times they’ll send coupons, and sometimes even offers for something free.  I just signed up for the My Panera Rewards Card.  It’s free to sign up; you give them your information, and the next time you visit, they’ll give you a card.  You use the card every time you go, and can earn coupons or free items.  Sometimes, they’ll surprise you with something free.  When I signed up, they surprised me with an offer for a free pastry or sweet that’s good for 2 months.  I can’t wait to go pick it up.

Well, that’s all I have for today, but I hope you have a good rest of the weekend.  Eat some sweets for me!

 

4 Responses to “All about food”

  1. Now I’m wondering if brownie mix could be cooked like the cake mix. Oh my cow!! Brownie pancakes. I need to try this soon.

  2. […] update I had for you was about the amazing brownie mix pancakes.  They are, as expected, fudgy and delicious.  I was a little disappointed that they didn’t […]

  3. […] also got to visit Panera recently to receive the free pastry I told you about.  I got a strawberries and cream scone which I loved and am plotting to recreate […]

  4. […] that you’ve started a personalized program, I find myself making excuses to come visit you.  I love having a reason to see you every couple […]


Leave a Reply

