Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Books to read, Treats to eat, and Pinterest June 20, 2011

In an effort to blog more often, I am blogging today even though I don’t have a ton to talk about.  I have finished a couple of books that I thought were worth mentioning.

First, I read C.S. Lewis’s The Weight of Glory which is actually a collection of essays.  Though I read the whole book, most of the essays were too intellectual for me, or on subjects that didn’t really spark my interest.  However, there were a couple lines that caught my attention.

One of the essays was called, Is Theology Poetry?.    Though most of it was too academic for me, the last line really spoke to me.  It says, “I believe in Christianity as I believe that the Sun has risen, not only because I see it, but because by it I see everything else.”

To me, the best part of the book was the title essay, The Weight of Glory.  Lewis phrased the basic premise as follows. “To please God…to be a real ingredient in the divine happiness…to be loved by God, not merely pitied, but delighted in as an artist delights in his work or a father in a son — it seems impossible, a weight or burden of glory which our thoughts can hardly sustain.  But so it is.”

A few pages later, he continues.  “Perhaps it seems rather crude to describe glory as the fact of being ‘noticed’ by God.  But this is almost the language of the New Testament.  St. Paul promises to those who love God not, as we should expect, that they will know Him, but that they will be known by Him (I Cor. 8:3).  It is a strange promise.  Does not God know all things at all times?  But it is dreadfully re-echoed in another passage of the New Testament.  There we are warned that it may happen to anyone of us to appear at last before the face of God and hear only the appalling words, ‘I never knew you.  Depart from Me.’  In some sense, as dark to the intellect as it is unendurable to the feelings, we can be both banished from the presence of Him who is present everywhere and erased from the knowledge of Him who knows all.  We can be left utterly and absolutely outside — repelled, exiled, estranged, finally and unspeakably ignored.  On the other hand, we can be called in, welcomed, received, acknowledged.  We walk every day on the razor edge between these two incredible possibilities.”

To me, that’s just a mind-blowing thought that’s never occurred to me before, but when he says it, it all makes sense.  I better understand something my Lord said, and, at the same time, I’m horrified by what happens to those who don’t know Him.  On the same page, he’s talking about another meaning to glory and the longing we have for it.  He says, “We do not want merely to see beauty, though, God knows, even that is bounty enough.  We want something else which can hardly be put into words — to be united with the beauty we see, to pass into it, to receive it into ourselves, to bathe in it, to become part of it.  That is why we have peopled air and earth and water with gods and goddesses and nymphs and elves — that, though we cannot, yet these projections can enjoy in themselves that beauty, grace, and power of which Nature is the image.  That is why the poets tell us such lovely falsehoods.”

Makes sense to me.  I’ve always enjoyed reading mythology, and this explains how I feel about it.  The last quote I wanted to share with you finishes that last thought.  “When human souls have become as perfect in voluntary obedience as the inanimate creation is in its lifeless obedience, then they will put on its glory, or rather that greater glory of which Nature is only the first sketch.”

I also read a really fun book called Let’s Bring Back  by Lesley M.M. Blume.  It’s just a really cute book of things that she wishes would come back in style.  She writes a little blurb about each thing, so it’s an easy, cute read.  Just as a little teaser to interest you, some of the things she wants to come back include: big band small town tours, curls on little girls, crumpets, flowers as a hair adornment, and jukeboxes.

So, I went on a cooking binge all day Saturday and definitely found a couple yummy recipes.  One was for Gingered Pear Sorbet.  Here’s the tweaks I made: I used pineapple juice instead of the light syrup (less sugar), put in more ginger (since I love it), and used lime juice instead of lemon juice (cause that’s what I had).  After you process it, the consistency is like applesauce, which makes me think that I could just buy huge jars of unsweetened applesauce and just mix the stuff in.  I also don’t think it needed the added sugar, so I think I’ll just mix all the stuff into applesauce and freeze it.  Next time, I also think I’ll try it without the mid-frozen processing because I don’t think that it changed the texture.  So, I really like it, but I’m also going to play with it to get different flavors, quicker processing, and less sugar.

Gingered Pear Sorbet (tweaked from Taste of Home)

1 29 oz. can pear halves

1/4 c. sugar

2 tbsp. lemon juice

1/8 tsp. ginger

1. Drain the pears, reserving 1 c. of the syrup; set aside.  In a saucepan, bring the sugar and syrup to a boil.  Remove and let cool.

2. In a blender, process the pears, lemon juice, and ginger til smooth.  Add the cooled syrup; cover, and process til pureed.  Pour into an 11x7x2 in. dish, cover, and freeze 1 1/2-2 hr., or til partially frozen.

3. Return the mix to the blender, cover, and process til smooth.  Place in a freezer container; cover and freeze at least 3 hr.

I also made rice krispies treats with chocolate Chex.  That in itself was great (they are really yummy).  I tend to make rice krispies when I have old, sticky marshmallows cluttering my pantry.  I had a couple bags and was making them, but I don’t have a big enough microwave bowl.  So I was making them on the stove, and it just so happened that the butter browned while the marshmallows were melting.  It changes the flavor and is very yummy.  It’s not necessary, but it’s a nice change.

While I was checking my e-mails this morning, I found out that Target currently has samples of JIF to go peanut butter.  They’re nice to pack in a lunchbox for a kid or husband, so I look forward to getting mine in a few weeks.

Finally, I wanted to remind you guys to check out Pinterest.  I’ve had several friend join, and we all agree that it’s fun and very addictive.  I’ve gotten a lot of neat ideas, and am really enjoying it.  Let me know if you need an invite, and I’ll see what I can do.  Until next time, have a fun week!

 

Leave a Reply

