Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Plants, beauty talk, food news, and a free movie April 11, 2011

Well, it’s the beginning of week 4 for my plants.  I transplanted some of them to a larger pot.  Unfortunately, I didn’t have enough room for all of them, but most of them got safely transplanted and seem to be doing well.  Take a look:

I don’t have any sample offers for you today, but what I do have is recommendations from samples that I either requested before I started blogging or requested recently but didn’t have enough time to post about before the offer ran out.  Several months ago, I requested a sample of a new perfume from a company called Diptyque.  I’d heard of them and their wonderful candles before, so I jumped at the chance to try anything from their company.  Several months later, I still hadn’t received a sample, so I just figured that something had happened and I wasn’t going to get it.   Imagine my surprise, when I got something in the mail recently that turned out to be that sample.  It was a vial of a perfume called Philosykos.  I don’t know how you feel about perfumes, but I usually wear them because I want to smell pretty.  I don’t necessarily want to smell the perfume all day, although I enjoy being complimented for smelling nice.  Unfortunately, I have a hard time finding perfumes that I like and that work with my body chemistry (I’m prone to headaches with many stronger perfumes).  This perfume is completely different.  I find myself going and smelling the vial or finding an excuse to put it on.  There’s just something about the scent that entrances me.  It’s also different from other perfumes because it evokes a mood (for me, at least).  It makes me want to sit in a garden or forest and read books about fairy tales and mythology.  I guess I’ve waxed poetic long enough, I just encourage you to give anything from Diptyque a chance.

I also recently tried a sample of lip gloss from the Revlon Colorburst collection.  They sent me the hot pink, and I really like it.  I’m sort of picky about glosses, because I don’t want it to feel like they’re gluing my lips together, but I also don’t want them to wear off within 5 minutes of being applied.  So far, the only ones I really like are from Bath and Body Works, but this one may be a new favorite.  The color is very true, it’s not sticky, and it lasts for a long time.  I haven’t had a chance to look for them in the store, but I’m hoping that it’ll be fairly inexpensive.

If you can’t tell by now, I’m a little bit weird.  I have quirky interests, and I can be very particular about what I like.  I also have a difficult to dress body type, and it is not easy for me to find clothes that are modest and that flatter by body type.  I was walking through the mall with my best friend, and I spotted a shirt in JCPenney that I actually liked! 😀  I didn’t have the time to try it on, and I don’t have the money to buy it right now, but it’s inspiring to know that it’s there.  Strangely though, it was in the petite section, but I held it up to me and it should fit anyway.  Isn’t it pretty?

As you already know, I like food.  A LOT!  I also enjoying reading magazines, usually ones that involve food.  I currently have a subscription to the Everyday with Rachael Ray magazine, and I wanted to share with you some of the neat or weird items that were recently talked about in their May issue.  According to the magazine, couples in Hong Kong are getting wedding packages from…McDonald’s.  Apparently, the stores are offering invitations, decorations, favors, and -of course- food.  Unfortunately, the restaurant will stay open for business during the reception.  Really???

The magazine also mentioned that a new trend at restaurants is sauces being replaced with flavored powders.  They mentioned some examples: chocolate “dirt” on a sundae instead of fudge sauce, peanut butter powder on pork, tangerine dust on lamb chops, and caper powder on deviled eggs.  They also ferreted out a company that makes cupcakes (cake, filling, and frosting) in a jar.  Both of these ideas sound pretty yummy to me, so I’ll be on the lookout for them in my area.

Well, I’ve got a busy week ahead of me, but I wanted to post this before my to do list completely exploded.  Hopefully, you’re having a more relaxing week.  If you are, then you might enjoy using the code MONDAYCOMP to get a free movie from Blockbuster Express.  Enjoy!

 

3 Responses to “Plants, beauty talk, food news, and a free movie”

  1. Jenna Lehman Says:

    Nice segue into the free movie code!

  2. […] Herrera’s website, you can request a sample to try one of their new fragrances.  Ever since my great experience with the Diptyque, I’m very excited about getting fragrance samples to try.  There’s also a couple of […]


Leave a Reply

