Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Babies, blondies, and Blockbuster March 28, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — foodfaithandfinds @ 6:52 PM
Tags: , ,

Good news, everybody!!!  The babies have started sprouting.  This is what I came home to on Friday.

Zinnia seedlings had popped up.  And then yesterday, the rubber band on the zinnias broke, so the plastic came off.  Actually, that turned out ok, since they needed some breathing space.  These were taken this morning.

The basil is starting to peek up, and the zinnias are going full force.  I’ve very excited about all my “babies!”  And, of course, I’ll keep letting you know how things progress.

I wanted to post these earlier but we’ve had a very busy weekend.  Some friends from college were in town, and we celebrated my father-in-law’s birthday.  Last night, we went over to a friend’s house and had homemade pizza and blondies.  The blondies are one of my favorite recipes since they use only a few ingredients that I almost always have on hand, plus they are so versatile with what you can put in them.  In this case, I didn’t put anything in them; my husband didn’t want craisins, I’m out of nuts, and one of our friends doesn’t like coconut.  This actually turned out well, because I remembered that I had leftover cream cheese frosting from making my FIL’s cake.  AMAZING!!!!! (BTW, my FIL’s cake, while good, was not something I would prefer to make for myself, which is why I’m not sharing the recipe.)

Blondies (from Smitten Kitchen)

8 tbsp. melted butter

1 c. brown sugar

1 egg

1 tsp. vanilla

1 pinch salt

1 c. all-purpose flour

1. Butter an 8×8 pan.  Mix together the butter and brown sugar and beat til smooth.  Beat in the egg, then the vanilla.  Add the salt, and stir in the flour.  Mix in any yummies that you want (like chocolate chips, nuts, dried, fruit, coconut, etc.).

2. Pour into the greased pan and bake at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes, or til set in the middle.  Cool on a wire rack.

Also, I recently signed up to receive e-mail and text messages from Blockbuster Express (similar to Redbox).  Today, you can get a free one-night rental by using the code FREEMONDAY.  They seem to do this periodically, so it’s worthwhile to sign up for their alerts.  Well, folks, that’s all for today.  I’m enjoying a relaxing day with my husband, and I just wanted to give you a quick update.

 

Leave a Reply

