Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Samples, snacks, and seeds March 22, 2011

I have several sample opportunities to share.  If you like a product called MiO on Facebook, you can request a sample of their liquid water enhancer (there’s a section to the left called “try it”).  I recently received my sample, and wanted to let you know about it.  They actually send you a full-size bottle of the product which has 24 8 oz. servings.  I received a bottle of Berry Pomegranate, but it also comes in Mango Peach, Fruit Punch, Strawberry Watermelon, Peach Tea, and Sweet Tea.  Personally, I didn’t like the Berry Pomegranate, but my husband did.  I’m always leery of things that are berry flavored, as they seem to be hit and miss.  However, I am excited to try the Mango Peach, and my husband’s excited about the Sweet Tea.  They do include 2 $1 off coupons with the sample, and I was pleased to see that they bottles only cost $3.50 (at least that was the price at Target yesterday).  This seems like a pretty good deal, since you can only get 10 servings of Crystal Light packets for about $2.50.  I’d love to know what you think of the different flavors if you get a chance to try them.

Also on Facebook, is a sample from Cheez-its.  Apparently, they’re trying to decide on a new flavor to make.  If you like their page, you can vote for a new flavor; then they will send you a sample of each of the three contenders (Asiago, Colby, and Romano).  Personally, Asiago was my favorite, but they all taste good.

There’s also another new opportunity for a lot of people on Kraft First Taste (see info here) to receive a coupon for a free package of Jell-O Temptations.  They look like they could be good since they’re offering flavors like double chocolate and strawberry cheesecake.

Update: Yesterday, my husband and I went to the mall to get our free Haagen-Dazs Midnight Dazzlers.  Unfortunately, the shop we wanted to go to closed down, and there’s not another one close enough to go to. 😦   Hopefully, you’ll have better luck because I’m sure it’s a delicious treat.

One of the couponing blogs I follow clued me in that Walmart is offering free samples of the Dove Men’s products.  Just go to this link and click on “Get a Free Sample.”

Also during this past week, my husband enjoyed some chili and biscuits.  The biscuits were Chipotle Cheddar Biscuits another masterpiece from Baked: New Frontiers in Baking. They are a little spicy because of the chipotle powder, but they are absolutely delicious.

Chipotle Cheddar Biscuits (from Baked: New Frontiers in Baking)

2 1/3 c. all-purpose flour

1 tsp. black pepper

1 tbsp. chipotle powder

1 tbsp. sugar

1 tbsp. baking powder

1 tsp. cream of tartar

1 tsp. salt

1/2 c. cubed butter

2 c. grated cheddar

1 1/4 c. buttermilk

1 egg

1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Line a baking sheet with parchment.  In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, pepper, chipotle, sugar, baking powder, cream of tartar, and salt.

2. Add the butter and work it in til it resembles coarse sand.  Add the cheddar and stir to thoroughly incorporate it.

3. In a small bowl, whisk together the buttermilk and egg.  Add this to the flour mix and stir til incorporated.  Do not overmix.

4. Use a small ice cream scoop or 1/4 c. to scoop mounds of dough 2 in. apart on the baking sheet.  Sprinkle with extra salt and bake for 20 minutes, rotating the sheet halfway through, til golden brown and a toothpick inserted in the center removes cleanly.  Remove from the oven and cool on a wire rack.

I also got to try a new scone recipe for Double-Chocolate Orange Scones.  I tweaked the recipe a little for time and lack of ingredients, but they were still amazing.  I didn’t have the mini chocolate chips, so I cut up some white chocolate that I had on hand.  Also, I forgot to sprinkle it with sugar, and didn’t feel like waiting to melt the chocolate and drizzle it over, before I ate one of them.  I did, however, make the orange butter, and it went so well with the scones.

Double Chocolate-Orange Scones (from Pillsbury)

2 c. all-purpose flour

1/2 c. sugar

1/3 c. cocoa

2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

1/3 c. diced butter

3/4 c. whipping cream

1/4 c. orange marmalade

1 tsp. vanilla

1 c. mini semi-sweet chocolate chips

1 tbsp. raw sugar

2 oz. semi-sweet chocolate

1/2 c. softened butter

1/4 c. confectioner’s sugar

2 tbsp. orange marmalade

1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.  Line a large cookie sheet with parchment.  In a large bowl, mix together the flour, sugar, cocoa, baking powder, and salt.  Cut in 1/3 c. butter til the mix looks like coarse crumbs.

2. In a small bowl, gently stir together the cream, 1/4 c. marmalade, and vanilla til well mixed.  Make a well in the center of the crumb mix; pour the cream mix into the well.  Stir the mix with a fork til the mix is moistened and a sticky dough forms.  Gently stir in the chips.  Form the dough into a ball.

3. On a well-floured surface, pat the dough into a 9 in. round that’s 3/4 in. thick.  Cut the round into 12 wedges.  Place the wedges 1 in. apart on the baking sheet.  Sprinkle them with the raw sugar and bake 14-18 min. or til the edges are set.  Cool on a wire rack for 30 min.

4. In a small microwavable bowl, heat the 2 oz. chocolate for 30 seconds or til softened; stir til smooth.  Drizzle over the scones.

5. In a small bowl, beat together the 1/2 c. butter and confectioner’s sugar til light and fluffy.  Stir in the 2 tbsp. marmalade and serve with the scones.

I’m also very excited because I planted my very first herb/flower garden today.  I’ve never grown anything before, so hopefully I don’t kill them.  I planted zinnias (in the purple pot) and chives and basil (in the green pot).  I planted the basil so I could make pesto, the chives because they’re my favorite herb (I like them on pretty much everything!), and the zinnias (orange and purple) because I like pretty flowers.

I put plastic wrap over them for the greenhouse effect.  I’m pretty sure it’s working since that steam came within a minute of wrapping them up.  I’ll keep posting pics as things progress.  Are you growing anything this year?

 

2 Responses to “Samples, snacks, and seeds”

  1. Skippy821 Says:

    I’m planning to start the basil you bought me! Love it! Hope your thumb is even greener than you expected. 🙂

  2. […] (happily) found out only has 199 calories per cup.  Even better!  We ate it with our favorite Chipotle Cheddar Biscuits that are decidedly not diet fare (but insanely delicious, nevertheless).  Happy eating! […]


Leave a Reply

