Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Lots of yummy treats! March 14, 2011

I love spending time with my friends and adding good food into the mix makes it great!  My best friend and I were cooking dinner and decided to have corn on the cob (parboiled and frozen from last summer) as a side.  I decided to try something I’d seen in a magazine.  I spread the corn with butter and then sprinkled on salt, parmesan, and cayenne.  Oh my goodness, it was so amazing!  If you don’t like spicy food, try just a teeny bit of the cayenne or switch it with chili powder.  I don’t mind some spice, so I sprinkled a good bit on.  This is definitely something I’m going to be eating a lot more of when the corn harvest starts coming in.  Actually, I enjoyed it so much that I couldn’t stop thinking about it.   The next night, I wanted a snack, but I didn’t have corn on the cob.   So I took some frozen corn kernels out (I always keep some on hand), heated it in the microwave, and doctored it just like the corn on the cob.  It was a good enough substitute in a pinch, but I still prefer the real thing.

We also celebrated my best friend’s birthday, so I made her a Boston Cream Pie.  I tweaked the recipe into a full sized cake through the adjustments listed below.  It’s a really nice recipe that’s easy and delicious.

Boston Cream Pie (from Kraft)

1 2-layer size package yellow cake mix (plus whatever eggs & oil it calls for)

1 c. cold milk

1 4 serving-size package instant vanilla pudding mix

1 1/2 c. thawed Cool Whip

4 oz. semi-sweet baking chocolate

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Prepare the cake according to the package directions; bake in 24 greased muffin cups (or 2 8 in. round cake pans).

2. In a medium bowl, whisk the milk and pudding mix for 2 minutes or til well blended.  Let stand for 5 minutes.  Use a serrated knife to cut the cupcakes horizontally in half.  (If you’re doing a layer cake, then just trim the dome off 1 of the layers.)  Gently stir 1/2 c. Cool Whip into the pudding.  Spoon about 1 tbsp. of the pudding mix on the bottom half of each cupcake and cover with the top half.  (For the large cake, spoon all of the pudding mix onto the top of the trimmed cake layer.  It’s ok to have a little bit more in the middle, but you want it to be pretty even overall.  You could also hollow out the top of the bottom layer and the bottom of the top layer.  That way, most of the filling stays in the cake and doesn’t ooze out so much when you slice into it.)

3. Microwave the remaining 1 c. Cool Whip and the chocolate in a small microwavable bowl on high for 1-1 1/2 or til the chocolate is almost melted, stirring after 1 minute.  (I prefer to do melt the chocolate in a small saucepan over low heat, then stir in the Cool Whip.)  Let this stand for 15 minutes to thicken.  Spread onto the cupcake and refrigerate at least 15 minutes before serving.

Boston Cream PieBoston Cream Pie 3

Since the new year, I just haven’t really been in the mood for a lot of cooking.  I guess it took me this long to adjust to my husband’s days off switching every couple of months and him being in school.  Thankfully, I’ve finally been able to get back in the swing of things and can enjoy cooking from scratch again.  In fact, yesterday, I decided that I should make something to use up some heavy whipping cream that’s been in my fridge for about a week.  (I’m also planning on making some more scones, so be on the lookout for that coming soon!)  So, I looked through my reference list (I have a word document that lists any ingredients used in a recipe besides your basics like  flour, milk, etc.  When you have over 1400 recipes, it’s sort of important to have a way to figure out what recipes use which ingredients so that you can easily use up things like…leftover cream.) and discovered some heavenly words: Butter Pecan Fudge.

Butter Pecan Fudge (from Taste of Home)

1/2 c. butter

1/2 c. sugar

1/2 c. brown sugar

1/2 c. heavy whipping cream

1/8 tsp. salt

1 tsp. vanilla

2 c. 10x sugar

1 c. coarsely chopped pecans

1. In a large, heavy saucepan, combine the butter, sugar (regular), brown sugar, cream, and salt.  Bring to a boil over medium heat, stirring occasionally.  Boil 5 min., stirring constantly.  Remove from the heat; stir in the vanilla.  Stir in the 10x sugar til smooth; fold in the pecans.

2. Spread the fudge in a buttered 8 in. square pan.  Let cool to room temperature and serve.

This fudge is so amazing!  It tastes like the best butter pecan ice cream translated in a crumbly fudge form.  It is super quick (especially since I didn’t toast the pecans) and so yummy.  The hardest part is waiting for the fudge to cool before you eat it, that and trying to not eat the whole pan in one sitting.

And if that isn’t enough sweets for you, hold on to your seats.  Like Haagen-Dazs shops on Facebook, look on the left of the page and click “Join our eClub”, fill in your information, and you should get an e-mail including a coupon for a free Midnight Dazzler (which from the picture looks like a large cup of chocolate ice cream and oreo pieces) from a Haagen-Dazs shop (hope there’s one near you!).  We’re planning on going to one next week to get the freebie, so I’ll let you know how it tastes!

By the way, if you’re bored and wanting to watch something while eating all these yummies, you might want to check out Morning Glory.  I got to watch it the other day, and I loved it.  It is a fast-paced, funny, and feel-good.  There is a little bit of strong language and some semi-adult situations, but the main focus is the craziness on the show which is hilarious.  Harrison Ford and Diane Keaton are hilarious together.  All in all, a really enjoyable funny movie; something that would go great with – oh, I don’t know – some Haagen-Dazs or fudge!

 

5 Responses to “Lots of yummy treats!”

  1. I almost forgot to mention something, for today only, you can use the code MONDAYFREE at any Blockbuster Express for a free one-night rental. Enjoy!

  2. Jenna Lehman Says:

    My favorite post so far! Don’t know whether it’s all the goodies or just the way it’s written. Either way, good job!

  3. […] Yesterday, my husband and I went to the mall to get our free Haagen-Dazs Midnight Dazzlers.  Unfortunately, the shop we wanted to go to closed down, and there’s not another one close […]

  4. […] without another movie/recipe installation.  This week’s movie was one I’ve discussed before, Morning Glory. (Trailer over here.)  Becky (Rachel McAdams) lost her job as a junior producer at […]

  5. […] of course it wouldn’t be a birthday without dessert.  I made him his favorite: Boston Cream Pie.  As usual, my SIL gave me free reign as long as it was red velvet.  This year, I decided to make […]


Leave a Reply

