Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Beauty, Baking, Books, and Bronc Bustin’ February 16, 2011

Well, this has been a busy week.  I’m sorry to have put you off for so long, but I’ll make up for it with a full post today.  First off, Walmart is offering a free sample of Maybelline’s new FitMe foundation.  I’m excited to try out a new foundation especially since I can try it for free.   (Update: I actually wasn’t a big fan of this particular foundation.  The color didn’t quite match my skin tone, and the texture wasn’t what I prefer.) I’ve also gotten to try a few new recipes.  My best friend had the inspiration to try the Glazed Cream Scones with lemon and blueberry subbed for the cranberries and orange.  They were fabulous. As was the Chocolate-Covered Oreo Cookie Cake I made for one of my husband’s Valentine’s Day presents. It tastes like a huge fudge-covered Oreo, and he absolutely adored it.

Chocolate-Covered Oreo Cookie Cake (from Kraft.com)

1 pkg. 2 layer sized devil’s food cake mix

4 oz. semisweet baking chocolate

1/4 c. cubed butter

1 8 oz. pkg. softened cream cheese

1/2 c. sugar

2 c. thawed Cool Whip

12 coarsely crushed Oreos

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Following the package directions, prepare and bake the cake in 2 9 in. round pans.  Cool in the pans for 5 minutes.  Remove from the pans and cool completely on wire racks.

2. Place the chocolate and butter in a small microwavable bowl; heat in the microwave for 2 minutes or til the butter is melted.  (I always do this on the stove.  I don’t trust microwaves not to go too far.)  Stir til the chocolate is completely melted.  Let cool for 5 minutes.

3. In a separate bowl, beat the cream cheese and sugar in a large bowl on medium til well blended.  Add the Cool Whip and crushed Oreos and mix together lightly.  Place 1 of the cake layers, top side down, on your serving plate and spread it with the cream cheese mix.  Cover with the remaining cake layer, top side up.  Spoon the chocolate glaze over the top and let stand until it’s set.

As if that wasn’t enough to overload anyone’s sweet tooth, I’ve been devouring Dorie Greenspan’s Baking: From My Home to Yours. I could willingly make or eat just about anything in that book.  I have to be careful not to read too much of it on my diet days, or I could drive myself crazy.  It is definitely one of my new favorite cookbooks.  On a different note, I just finished reading God’s Smuggler.  I remembered reading a comic book version of it when I was younger, but I really enjoyed reading the whole book.  It was absolutely amazing to me what he was able to accomplish in Communist countries and how the Lord always provided just what he needed.

One of the reasons I was busy this past weekend, was that I was having a Texan experience.  This past weekend, my husband and I went with his family to the San Antonio Stock Show & Rodeo.  We go together every year, but we usually just walk around the grounds.  This year, we went and saw a matinée show; which means that I saw bronco busting, mutton busting, barrel racing, and bull riding for the first time.  We had a really great time.  To be honest, I wasn’t sure that I’d like it (never having seen the appeal before), but I enjoyed it.  The riders were all very good and the atmosphere was one of encouragement and sportsmanship.  I’m still not sure exactly why guys subject themselves to it, but since they do, I now know that it’s enjoyable to watch.  Hope you are also having a good week.  Did you recently do something that you hadn’t expected to or were pleasurably surprised by?

 

One Response to “Beauty, Baking, Books, and Bronc Bustin’”

  1. […] are from Dorie Greenspan’s book Baking: From My Home to Yours that I read early last year (and loved!).  The nice thing about these cookies is that you don’t need a mixer to make them.  Instead […]


Leave a Reply

