Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Weekend dessert and Amazon MP3 credit February 7, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — foodfaithandfinds @ 9:59 PM
Tags: , ,

Well, things have gotten a little warmer since I last posted.  The weather over the weekend was pleasant during the day.  While having dinner with my in-laws, I got to try making a dessert idea I’d seen in a magazine.  My mother-in-law told me that she’d bought an angel food cake and strawberries for our dessert.  When I mentioned my idea, she agreed whole-heartedly.  That’s how we came to try Fried Angel Food Cake with strawberry sauce for dessert.  The sauce is one I’ve eaten since I was a child.  My mom taught me to take 1/2 of the strawberries (of however many you have), slice them, and put them in a saucepan.  Then you put sugar on them (the amount varies depending on how tart/sweet they are and how many you have).  Start small since you can always add more later.  You turn the stove on medium-low heat.  The sugar helps bring the juices out of the strawberries.  After a few minutes, you should be able to mash them easily.  Once it resembles sauce, you can taste it to see if more sugar is needed.  I like to put only a little to counteract tartness.  Then you slice the rest of the strawberries and mix them into the sauce.  For the cake, we just heated a pan over medium heat, melted butter in it, cut slices of cake, and fried them like French toast.  The sugar in the cake and the butter caramelize on the outside of the cake.  It’s slightly crispy and very delicious, especially topped with the sauce.  FYI, I’ve also heard of this procedure being done with pound cake.  Definitely something I plan on trying.

Also, I heard of a code that you can use on Amazon to get $2 in free mp3 credits. It should be good until Valentine’s day.   If you go to the mp3 download page and click on any album, you should see a link on the right of the page saying “Redeem a gift card or promotion code & view balance.”  If you click on that, you should be able to enter the code VDAYMP3S and receive the $2 credit.  It should be enough to get a couple of songs.  Happy hunting!

 

6 Responses to “Weekend dessert and Amazon MP3 credit”

  1. […] products known as Amazon is offering up a free $2 mp3 credit.  Just follow the technique discussed here with the code FALLMP3S.  I love it when they offer these and always enjoyably agonize over which […]

  2. […] from the jar!).  I decided to make this Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Pound Cake and top it with a homemade strawberry sauce.  It’s a delicious recipe that yields a moist, flavorful cake, and the strawberry sauce was […]

  3. […] I can download some new music without worrying about buying a whole album.  (Instructions are here, if you aren’t sure where the code […]

  4. […] doused in syrup.  If I’d had strawberries on hand when I made these, I would’ve made my favorite strawberry sauce which would’ve been the best of both […]

  5. […] gives it a little bit of tang that went really nicely with the strawberry sauce I made.  I also finally tried frying a slice of pound cake in butter (like French toast), and it was fantastic. […]

  6. […] down with a bowl of it.  But this recipe immediately grabbed my attention.  I’ve pan-seared angel food cake and pound cake, so I probably should have thought of this on my own.  Still, now that I’ve […]


Leave a Reply

