Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Breakfast for Dinner, a Beautiful Song, and Inspiration January 7, 2011

I’ve been so busy this week that I have to throw several things at you at once; hold on to your …laptops?  First, yesterday two of my girlfriends and I had such an awesome breakfast for dinner that we’re probably going to need to have it again next week.  We made Rachael Ray’s “Crazy Bacon and Chocolate Waffles”, and we LOVED them.  We didn’t do the warm fruit salad (though we did eat a regular fruit salad while we were making the waffles), and we didn’t mull the syrup.  And I don’t know about where you live, but the multi-grain waffle mix here is about $6 a bag.  We ended up just using Bisquick.  We are all definitely salt/sweet lovers, so this was perfect.

Crazy Bacon and Chocolate Waffles (from the Rachael Ray show)

8 slices smoky bacon

2 c. multigrain waffle mix

2 eggs

1 1/2 c. milk

2 tbsp. melted butter

A few grates of nutmeg

3/4 c. bittersweet chocolate chips

1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.  Arrange the bacon on a slotted broiler pan and bake til crisp.  Let it cool and chop it.

2. Place the waffle mix in a bowl and combine it with the eggs, milk, butter, and nutmeg.  If it’s too thick, add more milk.  When combined, stir in the bacon and chocolate chips.

3. Heat your waffle iron and brush it with the melted butter.  Add the waffle mix and cook according to your waffle maker’s instructions.  Serve with syrup.

Secondly, I was listening to some of the music that I got for Christmas and came upon this sweet, beautiful song.  The melody is kind of sad/sweet, but the words are lovely.  When my husband came home, I had him listen to it too, and it reminds us of our relationship.  I laugh when it gets to the part about him betting that her hair’s in a clip, because that is me to a T.

The last part is kind of an amazing compilation of ideas.  Last Sunday, our pastor started preaching about really knowing God.  In my personal devotions this year, I had decided to read through the Bible focusing on the different names of God,  which is going right along with pastor’s sermons.  Then, I started reading Early Will I Seek Thee by Eugenia Price.  I thought it would be more like her first book which was the story of how she (a self-professed pagan) came to Christ.  But this second book is about letting Jesus fulfill your desires and growing in your relationship with him.  Again, everything fits perfectly together, the sermons, the book, and my personal devotions.  A certain passage in the book really spoke to me and kind of put into words what I want to feel.  She says, “The name of Jesus Christ made my heart beat until I could hear it in my ears at night.”  That struck a chord in me, and I hope it does for you too.  I hope you’ll stay with me, and hopefully we can learn it together.

 

One Response to “Breakfast for Dinner, a Beautiful Song, and Inspiration”

  1. […] the food.  I had the waffles two more times, and they were just as fabulous as the first time.  I did learn that if you get the […]


Leave a Reply

