Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Short and Sweet June 27, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — foodfaithandfinds @ 12:01 AM
Tags:

So, today’s post is going to have to be abbreviated.  For some reason, this week decided to be insanely busy, but I didn’t want to miss a post just for that.  I’m hoping to try a couple new recipes this next week.  I’m also hoping that next week will be a little less busy so that I can get you a much longer post.

The recipe I wanted to share today is for a delicious little cake that’s easy to make, fast to bake, and tasty to take.  (What!?  You don’t like my rhyme?)  I made these for the first time several years ago when I wanted to bake something without having to go to the store for special ingredients.  I whipped these up and now I’ve remade them to share with you.  When I originally made them, I felt that the flavor of the ginger wasn’t prominent enough.  This time I substituted fresh ginger for the ground, and it definitely packed a punch.  If you’re a really big ginger fan, use fresh; if not, I’d try to use 1 tsp. ground so that you can still taste it.  On another note, the amounts listed for the glaze make twice as much as you need.  I reduced the amounts (by half) below.  You might also need to add more milk for a more dippable consistency.  Enjoy!

Ginger Tea Cakes with Lemon Glaze (from Everyday with Rachael Ray)

1/2 c. + 2 tbsp. flour

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1 pinch salt

1/2 tsp. ginger  (See my note above for different flavor levels.)

1/2 c. + 2 tbsp. sugar

7 tbsp. softened butter

2 eggs

1 egg yolk

3 tbsp. buttermilk

1 tsp. vanilla

3/4 c. confectioner’s sugar

1 1/2 tsp. lemon juice

1 1/2 tsp. milk

3 tbsp. finely chopped candied ginger (This is mostly for garnish, so don’t worry if you don’t have it on hand.  The first time I made this I didn’t, and they were still delicious.  This time I had ginger, but didn’t have the time to chop it up before I needed to take these to my secret sis.)

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Grease a 24 cup mini muffin pan.  In a bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, salt, and ginger.  In a separate bowl, beat the sugar and butter on medium for 1 minute.  Beat in the eggs and yolk at medium speed.  Stir in the dry ingredients on low, then mix in the buttermilk and vanilla.

2. Add 1 tbsp. batter to each mini muffin cup and bake til a toothpick inserted in the center removes cleanly, 12-14 minutes.  Let cool for 10 minutes, then remove from the pan and let cool completely on a wire rack.

3. In a small bowl, mix together the confectioner’s sugar, lemon juice, and milk.  Dip the tops of the cake in the glaze and top with the candied ginger.

Ginger Tea Cakes with Lemon GlazeGinger Tea Cakes with Lemon Glaze 3

Thanks for bearing with the short post, and I’ll be back with something longer soon.  Happy eating!

 

2 Responses to “Short and Sweet”

  1. Dad Says:

    Actually I did like the rhyme. And to answer the question you didn’t ask- if you count Elmer Fudd singing “Kill the Wabbit” as opera, then yes, I do like Opera.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.