Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Christmas Catch Up January 10, 2014

It’s time for our first post of 2014 which is also our catch up from the month of December.  So many things have happened, and I’ve been eager to catch up with all of you.

Let’s start with a movie review.  Have you had a chance to watch the new Lone Ranger movie yet?  Over my husband’s vacation, we got to catch up on some movies, and this one was hilarious.  As you might have guessed from the previews, this is an action-packed movie that puts a twist on the classic TV show.  What you don’t see in the preview is how off-beat and funny Johnny Depp is as Tonto.  If you’re looking for a fun movie to watch, this would definitely fit the bill.  We also really enjoyed watching Despicable Me 2.  It was a little sweet and very funny (though not quite as funny as the first one); another great movie night option.

I also got to try a new food product that I needed to tell you about.  I’ve recently been hearing about a new brand of popcorn called 479 Degree.  They are a brand of hand-crafted popcorn that come in a multitude of exotic flavors.  Though it can be a little pricey ($4 a bag), it’s a nice splurge for special occasions.  I got to try the White Cheddar + Black Truffle, and it was very tasty.  The next flavor I’d really like to try is their Toasted Coconut Caramel.

Now, a new year generally brings changes with it, and this one is no different.  You might have noticed over the past few weeks, but there’s something a little different going on with the photos.  Over the past year or so, I’ve been saving up some money, and I was finally able to purchase a Nikon D3200 DSLR camera.  I’m still learning the ins and outs of it, but you’ll hopefully see some gradual improvements in the quality of the photos that I’m taking.  (BTW, did you know that if you click on the pictures, you can see them in a larger size?  Just thought I’d pass that along.)

To help me improve my photography, I decided to try the 365 photo-a-day challenge.  Here’s the one I’m using for January.  While not all of my photos are going to be stellar, I thought I’d share a few of them each week.  Here are some of the best so far.

1-2 Begins with G 4 1/2 Begins with G.  I had just gone to the store and gotten all these wonderful green ingredients, plus some fresh ginger.

1-4 Word to Live By 5 1/4 Word to Live By.  For me, the only option here was a photograph of the Bible, because it is The Word.  This picture is of my life verse (Psalm 28:7) highlighted in the Bible that I use for my devotions.

The last thing I wanted to share today is a favorite “salad” of mine.  Because it’s made from naval oranges (which are in season in December), I tend to eat this around Christmastime.  For that reason, I call it  my Christmas orange salad.  I have no idea where the idea for this dish came from, but I’ve been making it for my family for years.  All you do is cut some naval oranges into bite-size pieces.  (You could use regular oranges, but then you’d have to pick out all the seeds.)  My mom discovered that it’s easiest to cut the peel off (as if you were going to supreme them), then chop them up.  Depending on the size of your oranges, you’ll need 2-4 per person.  Once you’ve got all the oranges done, you add in some pecans (chopped or whole), coconut (sweetened or unsweetened), and mini marshmallows (though, in a pinch, you can chop up some regular marshmallows).  That’s it!  The lovely thing is that you can customize this any way you like.  (For instance, my mom prefers hers with extra juice and marshmallows.)  You can also make this ahead of time, since the flavors just get better when they’re allowed to meld overnight.  However, you don’t want to add the marshmallows until right before you plan to serve it.

Christmas orange salad 2Christmas orange salad 5

 

Before you leave, I’d love to hear your thoughts on the photo challenge.  Do you want to see more pics or would you rather I just stuck to food pics?

 

3 Responses to “Christmas Catch Up”

  1. Raye Says:

    Yay! Congrats on the new camera purchase! I can’t wait until I’ve got enough saved for mine. I’d love to see more of your photos. Bring it on! :)

  2. […] back to the popcorn.  When I first told y’all about 479 Degree popcorn, I told you that the next flavor I wanted to try was their Toasted Coconut […]


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.