Food, Faith, and Other Fabulous Finds

Recipes, devotional thoughts, and other cool things I come across.

Hibernation Mode December 10, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — foodfaithandfinds @ 3:48 PM
Tags:

As you might have guessed from the title, the cold weather is inspiring me to go into hibernation mode.  I feel like all I want to do is sleep late, laze around watching TV and reading books, and eat warm, comforting food.   (Translation: I haven’t been cooking as much so this will be a short post.)  Is this happening to anyone else?  If you’ve been reading my blog for a bit (or just know me well), then you probably know that chili is one of my favorite cold-weather foods.  This particular chili has a nice meaty flavor and a bit of spice to help warm you up from the inside.  Though this recipe doesn’t call for beans, I think you could easily add them to stretch this meal farther.  I would also recommend cutting the brown sugar in half; we found it was just a little too sweet for our taste.  Other than that, this was an easy, tasty recipe that would help warm up a wintery day.  (By the way, I am enjoying the cold weather.  I just enjoy it from the comfort of my warm living room.)

Steakhouse Chili (from the October 2009 issue of Everyday with Rachael Ray)

1 tbsp. extra virgin olive oil

4 slices finely chopped smoky bacon

2 lb. ground sirloin (I just used regular ground beef, and it was still delicious.)

1 finely chopped onion

3 cloves finely chopped garlic

4 tbsp. chili powder

1 15 oz. can tomato sauce

1/3 c. worcestershire sauce

1/4 c. brown sugar (Like I said earlier, I’d cut this down to just 1-2 tablespoons.)

2 tbsp. hot pepper sauce

2 c. beef stock

1. In a large pot, heat the oil over medium-high heat.  Add the bacon and cook til the fat renders, about 2 min.  Add the beef and cook, stirring, til it’s browned, 8-10 minutes.  Add the onion and cook til softened, about 5 minutes.  Add the garlic and chili powder; season to taste with salt and pepper.

2. In a bowl, stir together the tomato sauce, worcestershire sauce, brown sugar, and hot sauce.  Stir this mix into the chili, then stir in the beef stock.  Bring the soup to a boil, then lower the heat and cook til it’s thickened, 6-7 minutes.  Top with sour cream.

Steakhouse ChiliSteakhouse Chili 2

If you’re not settling down for a long winter’s nap, drop by and tell me what your favorite cold weather warm-up is.

 

2 Responses to “Hibernation Mode”

  1. Raye Says:

    Mmmm….a big mug of chai tea and fuzzy wool socks!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.